Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Hintz Eggers
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I used a fine cornmeal and the bread came out delicious as a side for chili, very dense and crispy edges with the butter. After reading the reviews I did add a teaspoon of salt and a heaping spoonful of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Hintz Eggers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The best corn bread I have ever had. There is never any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Southern cornbread does not need sugar. The only way to improve this recipe would be to have fresh ground cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joharik
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
omg.... I grew up on this stuff!!! I was tickled to see this recipe which is exactly the one my great grand mother used. It'd easy and delicious too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laquitta
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I added 1 teaspoon of self rising flour and 1/4 cup of sugar for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is how my mother and grandmother made our cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rembrantartist
Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I've made this yesterday and i liked it; i was looking for an easy recipe with few ingredients but i was specially looking for a very traditional recipe and this is it... This is actually the first time i make a corn bread and i was doubting which recipe to make as i am not very experienced with baking bread, but as i was making oven-baked fried chicken and coleslaw, i wanted to have some corn bread as well and this one fitted perfectly and i know that i will make it again, thank you for sharing it :). Greetings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Almost right. Needs baking soda to make it rise, unless you're using self-rising cornmeal. It is southern cornbread, which means no flour, and definitely, definitely no sugar. I added a teaspoon of baking soda from memory, and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I Understand this is a "basic" recipe, but it is still suppose to taste decent. This DID NOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States