Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
The review by ' Breadmaker was very informative, and useful,..... however he was wrong , or she was when they mentioned the lack of Salt and the "lonely farm wife" not being too poor to afford salt ... yep , we were in the hills of East Tn. , but we did eat well, with what we had ... Thanks "Breadmaker"!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This recipe is indeed interesting from an historic perspective - possibly a passed-down recipe from an age where leavening and maybe even white flour was hard to get and not always available to the lonely farm-wife. The density and lack of sugar are not so detracting as the lack of salt or any other flavoring in this recipe. It reminds me a little of the modern "depression era" bread recipes that leave out salt as if it were so dear as to be unaffordable... which I doubt was really the case except in the most severely poor homes. Some other reviews suggest adding sugar or baking powder or all-purpose flour. That really would change the recipe too dramatically and take away from the simple charm of this "southern" cornbread. I would suggest adding a teaspoon of salt. It maintains the spirit of this all-corn southern bread, but makes it palatable. If you want a slightly fluffier cornbread, meringue the egg by beating vigorously to froth before mixing with other ingredients. What the poor southern cook might have lacked in ingredients, they could make up with elbow-grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Dense and bland. I wondered if it was supposed to have some kind of leavening, such as baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I have lived in Alabama all my life. The only sweet corn bread I have ever had came out of a box. This was good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I added oregano, rosemary, and about a twp of baking powder to make it rise and get fluffy. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I loved the flavor and texture but it did not rise for me. I am wondering if it needed baking powder or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
It is a great cornbread. I prolly will not make it again. It is too dense for my tastes. However it is a lot closer to the way my grandma made cornbread then I have found other places. I was more looking for an airy cornbread this deff was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is HOW I have always made non-sweet cornbread! My husband had Never had non sweet cornbread till I made my recipe similar to this! I don't always us buttermilk! Depends on where you are from the south, and what your family calls corn bread! If you will like this or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill M. Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this! To me, cornbread should never have honey, sugar, or any other sweetener in it - it's corn BREAD, not corn CAKE! :) It should be coarse and savory with a hint of sourness - this fits the bill perfectly! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I've made this recipe several times and have never had any problem with it rising or anything. I follow the recipe exactly and have never had any problems that other reviewers have had. I wonder if it varies depending on the cornmeal? It is a great basic cornbread recipe. I like to add some peppers and cheese to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef William
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States