Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
okay, better with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is classic southern cornbread and if that is what you are looking for then this is it. Great recipe to make the cornnbread for dressing. But if you are eating it at the table, it does need salt. And you can add a few more flavor enhancers like corn or peppers. But don't use flour, sugar, or baking powder, just get another recipe for that type of cornbread. Also, I used crisco instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a complete disappointment. It was dry, bland (I even added honey & kosher salt), thick, dense, and tasteless. There was no rise to it, and no crumble. Leaving this one off the "make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe needs to be revised to correct which ingredient amount is wrong. The cornbread batter was extremely thick, and the cornbread didn't raise and was tasteless and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Finally! A real cornbread recipe WITHOUT SUGAR!~! GREAT! Tastes like the old Texas cornbread my mother and grandmother made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I'm not from the south so maybe I'm missing something. I was trying to avoid sugary corn bread but I think this went too far the other way. It was flat, dense, bland and mealy. Maybe it's supposed to be that way but it wasn't to our taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very dense and bland flavor. The kids and husband said it was okay but I did not care for it at all. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
The review by ' Breadmaker was very informative, and useful,..... however he was wrong , or she was when they mentioned the lack of Salt and the "lonely farm wife" not being too poor to afford salt ... yep , we were in the hills of East Tn. , but we did eat well, with what we had ... Thanks "Breadmaker"!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This recipe is indeed interesting from an historic perspective - possibly a passed-down recipe from an age where leavening and maybe even white flour was hard to get and not always available to the lonely farm-wife. The density and lack of sugar are not so detracting as the lack of salt or any other flavoring in this recipe. It reminds me a little of the modern "depression era" bread recipes that leave out salt as if it were so dear as to be unaffordable... which I doubt was really the case except in the most severely poor homes. Some other reviews suggest adding sugar or baking powder or all-purpose flour. That really would change the recipe too dramatically and take away from the simple charm of this "southern" cornbread. I would suggest adding a teaspoon of salt. It maintains the spirit of this all-corn southern bread, but makes it palatable. If you want a slightly fluffier cornbread, meringue the egg by beating vigorously to froth before mixing with other ingredients. What the poor southern cook might have lacked in ingredients, they could make up with elbow-grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Dense and bland. I wondered if it was supposed to have some kind of leavening, such as baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States