Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Bland and doughy, but perhaps that's because I made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I'm sorry, but these scones were quite terrible. I followed exactly at 10 minutes and they came out raw. There's just too much flour and not enough butter and sugar. I ended up throwing away the entire batch. I just don't understand the rave reviews....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
PERFECT! I used self raising F - it was what I had. The baking powder & creme of tartar give it thee PERFECT lightness and flavor. Enjoy - I am
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
maybe I did something wrong, but these were more like crunchy biscuits than scones. I think next time I am going to not flatten them out and try to make the biscuit thicker and not not cook very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was SO easy and fast. I didnt have any cream of tartar so I substituted baking powder for the tartar and baking soda per someone else's suggestion. I would add a little more sugar, perhaps some raw sugar on top before baking? These were lovely fresh out of the oven on this snowy day with a cup of tea! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Piatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Meadow Lands, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Delicious! Added some vanilla to some of the batch and those were yummy as well. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Super simple,quick and versitile. I added 1tsp.ground cinnamin and a small handful of raisens. Its also nice to sprinkle cinnamin sugar or sift confectioners sugar on top. I plan to experiment with different ingriedients. Everyone loved them and I will need to double the recipe. They didn't last the day in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Lovely, simple and easy. I plan to make more and try some of the variations mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Made these today to go with lemon curd off this site. Very tasty scones! I am rating 4 just because I had to add another 1/4 cup milk just to get the dough to come together, but other than that this was very good and I didn't change other ingredients. Shaped into round and scored to bake, so it took longer to cook, but my fault and not recipe. These rose beautifully and had a really great texture. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I Loved making these!!! They were SO easy and yummy that I make them often!! I like to make my cookies and muffins smaller, so for these scones I cut them out using a little medicine cup. They turned out really cute. I also split a batch I made and put butterscotch chip in half, and chocolate chips in the other!! Talk about good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissHoneyBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States