Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
maybe I did something wrong, but these were more like crunchy biscuits than scones. I think next time I am going to not flatten them out and try to make the biscuit thicker and not not cook very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was SO easy and fast. I didnt have any cream of tartar so I substituted baking powder for the tartar and baking soda per someone else's suggestion. I would add a little more sugar, perhaps some raw sugar on top before baking? These were lovely fresh out of the oven on this snowy day with a cup of tea! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Piatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Meadow Lands, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Delicious! Added some vanilla to some of the batch and those were yummy as well. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Super simple,quick and versitile. I added 1tsp.ground cinnamin and a small handful of raisens. Its also nice to sprinkle cinnamin sugar or sift confectioners sugar on top. I plan to experiment with different ingriedients. Everyone loved them and I will need to double the recipe. They didn't last the day in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Lovely, simple and easy. I plan to make more and try some of the variations mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Made these today to go with lemon curd off this site. Very tasty scones! I am rating 4 just because I had to add another 1/4 cup milk just to get the dough to come together, but other than that this was very good and I didn't change other ingredients. Shaped into round and scored to bake, so it took longer to cook, but my fault and not recipe. These rose beautifully and had a really great texture. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I Loved making these!!! They were SO easy and yummy that I make them often!! I like to make my cookies and muffins smaller, so for these scones I cut them out using a little medicine cup. They turned out really cute. I also split a batch I made and put butterscotch chip in half, and chocolate chips in the other!! Talk about good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissHoneyBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
These are awesome. The only thing I did different was replace the margarine with butter and increased the sugar to 1/4 cup. My husband is a scone addict and would always buy them at Starbucks. Now he won't even give those ones a second glance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These scones were delicious! We cooked them a little bit longer to get a nice golden brown color, but overall the recipe worked very well. Especially with Crab Apple Jelly! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These were okay. I think that with some tweaking, they could be better. I would make them again, but next time I would make a double recipe, roll the dough a little thicker, and use a bigger cutter to yield larger scones. I would also add a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States