Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I threw this all in my kitchen aid at the same time, mixed it, kinda rolled it out and cut them. They are AWESOME! I brushed them with butter and milk at the end! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This recipe is a keeper for me! After years of attempting to make scones and failing miserably because they didn't rise or were too dry and bland, I've finally found a great British scone recipe! Being from England, I was always striving to find that perfect scone texture, moisture, and rising factor. Now I need to look no more! I added some sultana raisins to the mix and had to bake them a couple of minutes longer than stated on the recipe probably due to the high altitude where I live. I added milk chocolate chips for the batch I made for the kids and they loved them. I like to plonk on some strawberry jam and cream and they are simply divine. Even my hubby is amazed that I've finally made some scones that rise and don't resemble cookies in appearance! I must confess I've just finished gobbling one up for my breakfast! Thanks for the recipe Angela!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I'm a southern girl, but since I tried this recipe I haven't made my southern biscuits at all! These have a great texture, a nice but not overpowering sweetness...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good, basic scone recipe. I won't use baking paper again though---all my gorgeous scones were completely stuck! Next time I'll butter the sheet instead. We ate these "Devonshire style", with freshly whipped cream & strawberry jam. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChookChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was a very good basic recipe to play with.I made them very thick and cooked 12 minutes. Light layered texture. Followed to a T this time and had with a stew. Next time will do with some white chocolate and cranberries for a simple dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. I've made it many times now. I used cream with a little milk and they turned out very yummy. They are not sweet at all. I've made lemon curd to go with them and it was a hit. I've also added dry cranberries and fresh blueberries. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is the best scones recipe! It takes minutes to make and is so delicious. Our family favourite is to eat them warm with strawberry butter (puree fresh strawberries, butter, and a bit of honey) Great Recipe Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KtLizbet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Great recipe! I'm half English and my grandmother used to make these all the time. If you want these to rise and be sure to use self-rising flour vs. all-purpose (still add the same amounts of cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt). I used light butter instead of margarine. If you want to make things easier, freeze the butter and then grate it with a cheese grater into the flour mixture. Always use half and half. You don't have to knead the dough very much and if you're not good at it, just spoon the mixture onto the parchment paper. They'll bake up just like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe was so easy to do! I've made them twice for afternoon tea with more requests for them in the future. I've passed it along to my mother and mother-in-law with great feedback! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenholly2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I used butter (of course!) and a little vanilla. I shredded the butter on and barely kneaded it adding an extra TBSP of milk or so. I patted the dough into a round and cut it into 8 wedges. I have to say I was very pleased. I probably won't use another scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meganleiann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States