Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I'm not sure what I did wrong, they fell apart when we cut them, and tasted like baking powder biscuits to us. probably will not be trying them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used butter instead of margarine but left everything else the same. They are light and fluffy with just a hint of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Wow, what a light, airy scone. Bakes up beautifully and have a wonderful texture. I took the advice of someone else here, and used 3T sugar instead of two and the hint of sweetness (along with a little sprinkled on the milk-washed top) was a perfect accompaniment to my cup of coffee. :) I made my scones triangle, and ended up getting 8 "normal size" (not like Starbuck's gigantic things) scones. I also added some withering fresh blueberries from my fridge, and they cooked beautifully in the dough. Just folded them in last minute. Because my oven runs a little hot, I cooked these at 400 degrees for 12 minutes and they turned out perfect. There is no need for any other scone recipe. I'm going to try mini choc chips/chopped pecans next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia_A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
They were very easy to make, even for a thirteen year old like myself. However I used butter instead of margarine like the recipe calls for. I have never had a scone before but what I made was good. I plan to suprise my parents with them when they come home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie5251996

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made it with butter since I didn't have margarine (plus since I'll eat these over 6 meals I figured that less than a slice of butter worth of fat per meal would be fine). The only suggestion I would make is to bake a little longer than suggested--mine could have used another 2 minutes since they were a little too soft and doughy in the center. Otherwise these were wonderfully yummy and I was impressed by how quick they were to make and how low in fat they were compared to my better homes and gardens cookbook recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is the recipe I have been looking for for years! They look great and taste great. I used butter. I had to add almost a cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup to make a soft dough. Oh, and I used a baking stone instead of parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
very good, very quick and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
be sure not to over knead or they will be tough. Very tasty, if not slightly temperamental.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These came out fantastic! I changed the recipe a bit. Used organic whole wheat bread flour and butter. Also added currents until it looked like enough. They rose more than my last scone adventure and are fluffier inside too! Will use this recipe from now on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was my first time baking from 'scratch' and it came out better than i expected! only thing i did differently was use 'craisins' and sprinkled sugar over the top before i put it in the oven. one mistake i made was leaving a bit of flour on the bottom before i put it in which kind-of gave it a slight powdery taste. besides that, really easy, fun and tastes great! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States