Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Okay, I would've given it a 3, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt because I modified. I was looking for a basic scone recipe I could add coconut and chocolate chips to, and chose this one based on sweetness and reviews. I added 1/2 cup of sweetened shredded coconut and 1/3 cup choc chips, used 3 tsp baking powder rather than baking soda/cream of tartar (three because I was subbing in whole wheat white flour and it's just a bit heavier plus with the coconut I wanted to make sure of a good rise... it seemed to be the right amount as they rose as much as any scone I've made.) I also used a couple of pinches of sea salt rather than one pinch. Of course I used butter, and I also used some half and half to increase the wetness factor for the coconut. The scones are "okay." They're kind of dry and boring, but okay. I've used other recipes in the past with much better success. There's one that just takes cream from my Beard on bread book I think. I couldn't find that book this morning and was in a hurry so I chose this recipe from the site because it wasn't very sweet and when you're adding sweetened coconut and chocolate chips you don't want your dough very sweet. Like some others I had to add more than a half cup of milk to make a dough even though I had already added a bit of half and half to compensate for the coconut sucking up some of the liquid. Anyway, moist on the inside but the outside was too dry; I didn't brush with milk but I've never had to before...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
So not my favorite. They were an odd texture and had a funny after taste that I attribute to the cream of tartar. I'll not even try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Not quite the fluffy scones traditional to England, but these are still very good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
not the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This recipe is foolproof, easy and the scones turned out beautifully. My husband is English and woke up wanted English scones so I whipped up a batch and he gave them his (very picky) seal of approval. I used butter rather than margarine and we served them with butter and strawberry jam. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is a fast and easy recipe that I use all the time. Serve the scones with a nice jam, otherwise they will be too plain. This recipe even works well with canola oil instead of butter, no milk glaze, and sometimes I roll cinnamon or raisins into the dough, and that works well too. I love it how these scones are plain, and not at all like the fatty, sugary, and overloaded scones I see in many coffee shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These were so yummy and really easy. I didn't have parchment paper so I just put a little spray on my pan and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I just made a batch of these scones and they're fantastic! mmm yum! :) The only thing I'd note is that the dough was pretty dry so I had to add an extra half cup of water in order to make it malleable. Also added raisins and an egg wash instead of the milk glaze. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I realy liked them and the family did to. I try to experiment with them and stuffed them with mozzarella cheese and they turned out to taste good as well. GOOD RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great authentic recipe! I usually stir in craisins or golden raisins but this recipe is is good enough on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Blizzard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States