Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Please use butter rather than margarine! Cutting back on sugar as previously suggested is best unless you have a real sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
So easy and so good! I substituted King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour and still got light, fluffy scones. I also upped the sugar but WOULD NOT do so again - I like a less-sweet scone. I also added chopped cranberries and apricots for that little "surprise" of sweet. Will become a standard in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were just ok. But I don't know if this would be a fair review or not because this is on my change. I used soy milk instead of regular milk. Other recipes I've made such substitutions have been fine, so not sure if it made a difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanny Snowflake
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great basic recipe that tast delicious as is, but is very easy to modify for yummy add-ins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I'm English and these scones are perfect! Didn't change a thing except you do need to add a little more more milk. You definitely do not need to add more sugar as some reviewers suggested. In the UK I would eat these with clotted cream and jam but clotted cream is difficult to get in the US so I serve them with real butter or heavy cream whipped until it's really thick and strawberry jam. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Really good scones, and really easy to make. We followed the suggestion to add an extra tablespoon of sugar, but I think it still needs some more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam and Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Super quick and easy with ingredients I had in stock on a snow day! Mixed it up in a food processor, followed other recommendations to add 3 TB sugar. I kneaded in dried cherries and white chocolate chips at the end, and patted it out into a 12 inch circle, then cut into wedges and baked as directed. They rose a little but didn't really spread out. Perfect, light texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Light, slightly sweet, and the perfect size and texture. I followed the recipe with the exception of the Cream of Tartar, which I did not have available. Simply wonderful scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
It was very good! For me instead of using a round i did balls. This time im going to try using clovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteCalicoCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Really nice plain scones. I used butter and skim milk. Dough was a bit dry so added a couple tablespoons more milk... so the baking soda would take off (like a Irish soda bread consistency). Work very fast or you'll loose some of the lightness. Baked on parchment over the drip rack on my roasting pan which created even heat all around. Tripled in height after about 12 minutes. Jam & buttered this morning, but will serve with soup tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States