Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These are a little dry, even for scones. Definitely want to be served warm and softened in tea. But they rise beautifully in the oven and have a lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Very tasty, but a bit on the dry side. Unfortunately, my creations were not reminiscent of Tea & Sympathy's as another reviewer remarked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Wonderful! I followed other reviewers' advice ans used half white flour, half wheat, subbed baking powder for the soda and cream of tartar, subbed butter for margarine, and flattened the entire dough into a 1/2" thick circle before cutting into wedges. Baked perfectly and reheated well. I might try letting the dough rest a few minutes before baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I've never made scones before, and I'm not that great at baking. I followed the recipe almost exactly- I forgot to brush the scones with milk, and I needed a little more than 1/2 a cup of milk in the dough- and these came out wonderfully light and tender on the inside! They take so little time to do. Great recipe and lots of potential for add-ins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Increadiblly easy and delicious! Of course, use real butter. I used heavy whippinb cream instead of milk. Easy recipe to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I found these to be dry and wouldn't make this exact recipe again. They ARE low fat but for enjoying occassionally I would add two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Truly a great scone recipe, but PLEASE... replace the margarine with butter. I think this really must be an error on the submitters part, because it is virtually impossible to make a true scone out of margarine. My UK cousins would just say "EW" at the thought. However, if you replace with butter and don't over-knead the dough, you should be fine. Any crumbs that are left in the bowl, just pat on the scone. Also, not sure where cutting them out with a bisquit cutter came from, but I generally do it the British/Scottish way and make a large 6" circle and score it in 'pie' pieces. That is the only way I have ever seen them when I've been in the British Isles. Granted, there are the 'factory' scones that are in shapes, but ... just sayin'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Please use butter rather than margarine! Cutting back on sugar as previously suggested is best unless you have a real sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
So easy and so good! I substituted King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour and still got light, fluffy scones. I also upped the sugar but WOULD NOT do so again - I like a less-sweet scone. I also added chopped cranberries and apricots for that little "surprise" of sweet. Will become a standard in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were just ok. But I don't know if this would be a fair review or not because this is on my change. I used soy milk instead of regular milk. Other recipes I've made such substitutions have been fine, so not sure if it made a difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States