Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I don't know how the other guys handle the dough in this recipes, but I choose it anyway, despite the bad reviews because of the low fat content. Couple of tips for this recipes: 1)Do not "overub-in" the butter. Yes! please use butter for the flavour, instead of the margarine. 2)Make sure everything is extremely cold. 3)Do not knead the dough for more than 8-10 times, even when there are crumbs left behind, just pat them onto the dough when you shape it out on the cookie sheet. 4)Instead of cream of tartar and baking soda, add 2 tsps of baking powder. I made many many scones before, but never ever cut any of them into circles as suggested in recipes. Instead roll the dough out into a 6" circle and scour the circle into 6 triangles is my favourite method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
I tried this recipe because it got a high rating, but the scones came out flat and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
This was very easy to make and tasted wonderful. I would suggest this to be rolled to 1/2" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
I tried these because there was less butter and plain milk, rather than the ones my mother taught me, with twice the butter, sour cream and lots more sugar. However, these were very dry, tasteless and flat. So very dissappointing. I am surprised at the positive reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 all purpose gives a diferent taste also used 1/2 the sugar for a more savory approach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
These are good basic scones and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
Overall this is a nice recipe, but I found the flavor and texture a little disappointing. I served these to my friends who have enjoyed other scones in my reciipe, and the politely said, " I like the others better".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
These scones are really good. I was surprised because they use less butter than the scone recipe I normally use, but they were quite good anyway. Note: I found I had to use a tiny bit more milk than the amount given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
Excellent recipe! I'm a scone baker and these were wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe! Tracey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
Awesome and delicious! I've never tasted the scones from "Tea and Sympathy", but I'm sure that these beat them by a long mile. They are soft, fluffy, and have the best flavor! Try them, and I'm sure you'll be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States