Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very good! I made these for my Scottish friends and they loved them. I added mini-chocolate chips to one batch and raspberry jam to another. They took a little longer to bake than the recipe ways, but that could be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
These are great! I think I'll probably double the recipe next time since they went so fast. I improvised a little by mixing strawberry jam in half the dough and chocolate chips in the the other... they came out great, and they're tastiest right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I made these scones for my British grandmother for Christmas breakfast and she RAVED! The rest of my family enjoyed them with clotted cream and jam (from Tea and Sympathy) and they were perfect...not heavy and dense like some scones I've had, but light, tender, soft, and delicious. Thanks from my grandmother (who said she never could make a good scone, and now can with your recipe) and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Delicious, and SO easy to make. I used soy milk instead of regular milk and they still turned out oh-so-fluffy and good. I cut them into tringles though, which worked better and they turned out quite pretty. :) I threw everything in a mixer, which worked well, and topped it with lemon curd. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in a super easy breakfast recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
After a failed first attempt (Uk users be aware that baking soda is NOT baking powder but Bicarbonate Of Soda ) we tried again. This time the results were fantastic and having just tried one with butter and jam i am amazed at the lightness of these excellently easy to create scones. My thanks to the author
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I don't know how the other guys handle the dough in this recipes, but I choose it anyway, despite the bad reviews because of the low fat content. Couple of tips for this recipes: 1)Do not "overub-in" the butter. Yes! please use butter for the flavour, instead of the margarine. 2)Make sure everything is extremely cold. 3)Do not knead the dough for more than 8-10 times, even when there are crumbs left behind, just pat them onto the dough when you shape it out on the cookie sheet. 4)Instead of cream of tartar and baking soda, add 2 tsps of baking powder. I made many many scones before, but never ever cut any of them into circles as suggested in recipes. Instead roll the dough out into a 6" circle and scour the circle into 6 triangles is my favourite method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
I tried this recipe because it got a high rating, but the scones came out flat and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
This was very easy to make and tasted wonderful. I would suggest this to be rolled to 1/2" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
I tried these because there was less butter and plain milk, rather than the ones my mother taught me, with twice the butter, sour cream and lots more sugar. However, these were very dry, tasteless and flat. So very dissappointing. I am surprised at the positive reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 all purpose gives a diferent taste also used 1/2 the sugar for a more savory approach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States