Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
It is very good the way it is, but I have found that by adding a half cup of rasins and sprinkling a pinch of sugar over them before baking makes them delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
These were great! Light, fluffy, just slightly sweet. I added a bit more milk than the recipe said because I like the dough to be soft and sticky (they tend to turn out better that way). I can't wait to try some variations - orange and cranberry, currants, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONASPROF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Very tasty, Very easy and Very quick! I used a tad more sugar and needed a bit more milk and they were perfect. I put them in mini muffin tins instead of cutting them out. they fluffed up very nicely! (do not over knead the dough or it will be tough and flat). My little girls loved them for their tea party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I was looking for an easy scone to serve with supper. These were delish, but required a bit more milk than the recipe called for. The kids loved them, and ate up ate extras for a bedtime lunch. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Now THIS is a good British scone! It is simple and delicious, just the right scone to have with the traditional clotted cream and strawberry jam. I also use this very recipe for strawberry shortcake by splitting the warm scones and layering them with sliced strawberries that have been macerated in sugar and heavy cream that has been whipped with a little sugar and vanilla extract -- delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I've attempted scones with a few other recipes with results resembling hockey pucks. This recipe came out very well. Nice, big, soft scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
These were pretty good--the first batch was a little bland, so I added some blueberries, spices, and buttermilk instead of regular milk. Note: They don't spread, they just puff up, so keep that in mind when you're cutting/shaping them. Also, better to underbak them than to overbake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Should be served with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
These scones turned out great! I made them for a tea party and everyone loved them. I sprinkled a little sugar on top when they came out of the oven to give them a little sparkle. If you're looking for a good basic scone, this is the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
The perfect companion to a cup of tea! Very easy. I made them exactly as directed, and they turned out perfectly. I almost added more milk, as the dough looked very dry, but after kneading it for a moment, it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States