Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
These are awesome scones! They were all gone 20 minutes after they came out of the oven. The boys DEVOURED them! Thanks for the recipe Angela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
so delicious. they taste so good, i can't believe they're as healthy as they are. if you are a poor college student and do not have parchment paper, just grease and flour a cookie sheet. they didn't stick at all. and if you want to add chocolate chips or blueberries, try mixing them in before you add the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I just bakes these, and they turned out wonderful. I did not add anything, like berries, fruit, spices or chocolate; they are great as is; but you certainly can with this basic recipe. Thank you very much, this is exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Just like the scones from that coffee place on every street corner but not so dry! I used a little more sugar in the dough, patted it into a circle about 3/4 inch thick right on the parchment paper, scored the circle into 8 wedges (cut almost all the way through), brushed generously with milk and sprinkled with white sugar. Took about 12 minutes in my oven to get the nice light light golden around the outside. Transferred the whole circle to a wire rack, cooled a bit then "broke" the wedges out for a beautiful scone that tastes really good with jam. My 3 1/2 year old son loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
My husband loves these scones, and he is a tough critic. I've made them several times with perfect results each time, and I tried a small variation on these today which worked out wondefully! I added 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to the dry ingredients, and used 1/4 C. of brown sugar in place of the white sugar. Made a lovely caramel colored scone, which tastes divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I cooked this today with my 5 and three year old kids. We all loved them with strawberry jam. They turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This was a fair recipe. It was very easy to make, because I did not roll out the scones and cut them, instead I dropped them into a mini-muffin pan. They tasted alright, but a bit bland, and heavy. If I ever make these again I will use more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Very good, much like an original English scone. I rolled the dough out a bit too thin so my scones were not very thick. I will try rolling the dough next time to about 3/4 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This recipe is great. I make it with a bit of vanilla stirred in and turbinado sugar sprinkled on the top. Especially good with clotted cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
they're sensational
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States