Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was a great recipe for a scone. They are wonderful! To make mine sweeter, i used 1/4 cup sugar and added vanilla extract. You can use anywhere from 1/4 to 1/2 of a teaspoon of the vanilla. I also mixed some vanilla with the milk to brush on top of it before baking and sprinkled sugar on top to give it a nice golden brown finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
The only change I made to this recipe was to add 140g of raisins. Other than that, exactly as written, which is saying something for me! Short and delicious - English even to someone from England. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Perfect scones every time, goes great with the lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Yummy! I used real butter instead of margarine and also sprinkled the tops with some white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Great traditional scone recipe! I added 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/8 to give it more sweetness. I only got 9 out of the recipe instead of 12, but overall it's fantastic! I tried it with cream and homemade lemon curd and they were divine! Light and fluffy - thanks for the recipe! I will be serving them at our church Mother's Day tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
These are alright, but true British scones are sweeter and fluffier. I halved the recipe, and ended up with 5 rather small, thin scones. I will probably make these again but will add more sugar, and will aim to make 10 thick scones using the stated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
These were the best scones I have had since I live in England over 10 years ago! To all those "scone" lovers out there these are about the closest you can get to a real English Scone without flying to England to have one. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I have made this scone many times and every time, I get compliments, even my six year old niece loves it. I use the same recipe using extra old cheddar sometimes and it is a nice mix in flavour with the strong cheese and sugar. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
These were fabulous! Loved them, loved them! Crispy on the outside and so very soft and fluffy on the inside. I am a sweet tooth but I count calories, so I substituted the sugar for 1 cup of Splenda and used Country Crock with Yogart spread. I didn't have cream of tartar, so used 4 teaspons of baking powder in place of that and the baking soda. I also added some frozen blueberries. They were really wonderful! And barely a 100 calories each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe was amazing... I'm an impatient and clumsy cook, and I still managed to make these incredible scones. They taste excellent even after a day or two, not growing dense or overly moist. My complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States