Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made these exactly as written, except with butter instead of margarine, and they were delicious. No need to add sugar, no need for clotted cream or jam -they were delicious "as is." A great economical snack for the kids. Make sure you sift the dry ingredients and don't handle the dough any more than absolutely necessary. And eat them warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I used whole wheat instead of white flour and doubled the suger and added vanilla (as suggested) and it still was great. Next I am going to try with this with splenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
these were seriously delicious and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Bravo Angela! these were pretty amazing. I´m a Londoner living in Spain, It´s not particularly easy to find scones in sunny spain, so I was over the moon to have found this recipe. Have made them twice, they kept well in an air tight container and tasted simply delicious. Got it all to be a keeper. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I changed the milk to make these vegan. I also doubled the sugar and added vanilla following other suggestions here. They are just fabulous!!! My whole family just devoured a double batch and are asking for more NOW!! Recommend highly, you won't be disappointed. We also used cookie cutters and made shapes which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is a wonderfully yummy recipe. I took the advice of some other reviewers and doubled the sugar and added 1/4 tsp. vanilla....I can't wait to try some of the other variations suggested!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Simply scrumptious scones! I ate the entire batch in one sitting. I also doubled the sugar like most other reviewers reccomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was a great recipe for a scone. They are wonderful! To make mine sweeter, i used 1/4 cup sugar and added vanilla extract. You can use anywhere from 1/4 to 1/2 of a teaspoon of the vanilla. I also mixed some vanilla with the milk to brush on top of it before baking and sprinkled sugar on top to give it a nice golden brown finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
The only change I made to this recipe was to add 140g of raisins. Other than that, exactly as written, which is saying something for me! Short and delicious - English even to someone from England. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Perfect scones every time, goes great with the lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States