Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I had a little accident with the milk, adding a bit too much so that the dough was too wet and gooey to roll out. Instead, I dropped 1/4 cupfuls onto the baking sheet. And it STILL came out tasting wonderful! Slightly crispy on the outside and light, airy, and moist on the inside! A recipe that can stand a few mistakes and still turn out is definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Absolutely fabulous. Didn't have to change a thing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Sorry texture and flavour just not right for a true British scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I agree with MSFLISS on the "scones, not cookies" bit. I made the recipe as stated, except for using butter instead of margarine and thought they were perfect. Just a hint of sweetness, and light and airy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missus wife
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This recipe is fabulous! I've never been able to make decent biscuits, but these scones just popped right up like nobody's business. I think I put in a bit of extra sugar because I didn't have a 1/8 c measure and had to eyeball it. The scones came out perfect--not too sweet and not too bland. The only thing I would do differently next time is use a bigger cookie cutter, I think they would be better if they were about 4" in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
exactly the texture that I was looking for in a scone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very nice! Light, fluffy, a hint of sweetness. I think people are crazy for saying you should double the sugar or add vanilla - these are scones, not cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
mmm... all the ingredients and proportions are correct, only mine turned out like little ugly stones Will try again, I constantly get confused with American measurements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
These are perfect, just like my mum makes and she was born in England! Made them with black currants. It is hard to find a true scone in the US...the things they call scones are overly sweet baking powder biscuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Needed more sugar, maybe double. Otherwise, quite bland. Or add raisins and currants. I only added 1/4 cup currants, but it still wasnt sweet. And maybe I'll add Vanilla next time, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States