Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
It was okay. I mixed in coconut and toffee bits. Very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
We loved these scones and we made them exactly to the recipe. :) I made another batch with 1 cup chocolate chip...delicious!!! Thank you for this recipe. Oh,I shaped them into little hearts...so cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is such a simple recipe, and even works well with half the flour being a whole grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is THE best scone recipe I have ever tried. It's so simple and moist, for me they didn't come out dry at all (though a little crumbly, but in a good way). I first tried them in school, because my cooking teacher picked this recipe out for us to try. We didn't really know what "cream of tartar" was and if we have that here in Sweden, so I've always skipped it and the scones have been perfect every single time anyway! Thanks so much for this recipe, it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofiedoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe is perfect. Every other recipe I looked up was a lemonade or lemon-lime soda scone and I just wanted a basic traditional scone. This recipe is great, I followed it exactly, but only used margarine due to a shortage in butter.. hey, i needed butter on top more than in the bread. I will definitely try butter next time. Butter will be purely for personal preference, as using margarine still produced a superb basic scone. My husband loved it. My English father-in-law will be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I make these scones frequently, and they go quickly in our house! They are delicious, and not dissimilar to scones we pick up regularly when back in the UK. I actually prefer cutting them into triangles, but my husband still likes the rounded biscuit shape, so we do them both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I tried this. Mmmmm.... My sister-in-law is from England. These are as close to hers as I can get. Soo good. The recipe said to use 1/2 cup milk to get a soft dough. No way that was happening. I had to add about 1/4 to 1/3 cup more milk, but it was still delicious. I made these 2 nights ago and am getting ready to make them again. Change the recipe? Why mess with perfection? (Did you noticed that I like this one?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I really like the scones from Tea and Sympathy so I was excited to try this recipe, but I ended up being totally disappointed. The scones looked just like the one in the picture but I didn't like the texture or the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very easy & came out great! My mom is still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I also didn't have Cream of Tarter on hand so used baking powder. Used my pastry blender to work in the butter (don't use margarine) and it worked just fine. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States