Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
These were quick and easy to make. I had planned to add some blueberries, but when I saw the dough was pretty dense I was afraid they would get all broken up if I tried to mix them in. I also decided to cut the scones into triangles. I wasn't sure how much the scones would spread as they baked, and since they hardly spread at all, my triangles were too small. BUT, they tasted great in spite of all this and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Thanks Angela! Very easy to make and a great basic scone. I made mine with half whole wheat and butter. I think these are lighter than those at Tea & Sympathy, and therefore better for my diet. Of course those at T&S are a wonderful treat now and then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
Awesome and delicious! I've never tasted the scones from "Tea and Sympathy", but I'm sure that these beat them by a long mile. They are soft, fluffy, and have the best flavor! Try them, and I'm sure you'll be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
Excellent recipe! I'm a scone baker and these were wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe! Tracey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
This was very easy to make and tasted wonderful. I would suggest this to be rolled to 1/2" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Delicious, and SO easy to make. I used soy milk instead of regular milk and they still turned out oh-so-fluffy and good. I cut them into tringles though, which worked better and they turned out quite pretty. :) I threw everything in a mixer, which worked well, and topped it with lemon curd. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in a super easy breakfast recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I made these scones for my British grandmother for Christmas breakfast and she RAVED! The rest of my family enjoyed them with clotted cream and jam (from Tea and Sympathy) and they were perfect...not heavy and dense like some scones I've had, but light, tender, soft, and delicious. Thanks from my grandmother (who said she never could make a good scone, and now can with your recipe) and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
These are great! I think I'll probably double the recipe next time since they went so fast. I improvised a little by mixing strawberry jam in half the dough and chocolate chips in the the other... they came out great, and they're tastiest right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very good! I made these for my Scottish friends and they loved them. I added mini-chocolate chips to one batch and raspberry jam to another. They took a little longer to bake than the recipe ways, but that could be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I like this recipe very much. My husband is from overseas and says it's pretty darn good. I add currants to this recipe, not raisins, they are to big and to sweet. This is great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States