Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Delicious! Added some vanilla to some of the batch and those were yummy as well. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Super simple,quick and versitile. I added 1tsp.ground cinnamin and a small handful of raisens. Its also nice to sprinkle cinnamin sugar or sift confectioners sugar on top. I plan to experiment with different ingriedients. Everyone loved them and I will need to double the recipe. They didn't last the day in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Lovely, simple and easy. I plan to make more and try some of the variations mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Made these today to go with lemon curd off this site. Very tasty scones! I am rating 4 just because I had to add another 1/4 cup milk just to get the dough to come together, but other than that this was very good and I didn't change other ingredients. Shaped into round and scored to bake, so it took longer to cook, but my fault and not recipe. These rose beautifully and had a really great texture. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I Loved making these!!! They were SO easy and yummy that I make them often!! I like to make my cookies and muffins smaller, so for these scones I cut them out using a little medicine cup. They turned out really cute. I also split a batch I made and put butterscotch chip in half, and chocolate chips in the other!! Talk about good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissHoneyBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
These are awesome. The only thing I did different was replace the margarine with butter and increased the sugar to 1/4 cup. My husband is a scone addict and would always buy them at Starbucks. Now he won't even give those ones a second glance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These scones were delicious! We cooked them a little bit longer to get a nice golden brown color, but overall the recipe worked very well. Especially with Crab Apple Jelly! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These were okay. I think that with some tweaking, they could be better. I would make them again, but next time I would make a double recipe, roll the dough a little thicker, and use a bigger cutter to yield larger scones. I would also add a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
We loved these, but I did add some ingredients to make them a little more "fun". I halved the batch and made one with chocolate chips. To the other one, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, white chocolate chips and finely crushed walnuts. My daughters and husband liked them and called them "breakfast cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I loved this recipe. As everyone else does, made a few modifications. Added 1/4 c. sugar. Sometimes add cranberries & orange zest, other times add mini choc chips. Didn't roll out - divided into 12 sections and rolled each into a ball. Slightly flattened to 3/4" and baked. Drizzled with glaze. My kids LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States