Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Bland and doughy, but perhaps that's because I made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I'm sorry, but these scones were quite terrible. I followed exactly at 10 minutes and they came out raw. There's just too much flour and not enough butter and sugar. I ended up throwing away the entire batch. I just don't understand the rave reviews....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
PERFECT! I used self raising F - it was what I had. The baking powder & creme of tartar give it thee PERFECT lightness and flavor. Enjoy - I am
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
maybe I did something wrong, but these were more like crunchy biscuits than scones. I think next time I am going to not flatten them out and try to make the biscuit thicker and not not cook very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was SO easy and fast. I didnt have any cream of tartar so I substituted baking powder for the tartar and baking soda per someone else's suggestion. I would add a little more sugar, perhaps some raw sugar on top before baking? These were lovely fresh out of the oven on this snowy day with a cup of tea! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Piatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Meadow Lands, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Delicious! Added some vanilla to some of the batch and those were yummy as well. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Super simple,quick and versitile. I added 1tsp.ground cinnamin and a small handful of raisens. Its also nice to sprinkle cinnamin sugar or sift confectioners sugar on top. I plan to experiment with different ingriedients. Everyone loved them and I will need to double the recipe. They didn't last the day in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Lovely, simple and easy. I plan to make more and try some of the variations mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Made these today to go with lemon curd off this site. Very tasty scones! I am rating 4 just because I had to add another 1/4 cup milk just to get the dough to come together, but other than that this was very good and I didn't change other ingredients. Shaped into round and scored to bake, so it took longer to cook, but my fault and not recipe. These rose beautifully and had a really great texture. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I Loved making these!!! They were SO easy and yummy that I make them often!! I like to make my cookies and muffins smaller, so for these scones I cut them out using a little medicine cup. They turned out really cute. I also split a batch I made and put butterscotch chip in half, and chocolate chips in the other!! Talk about good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissHoneyBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States