Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Nanny Snowflake
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great basic recipe that tast delicious as is, but is very easy to modify for yummy add-ins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I'm English and these scones are perfect! Didn't change a thing except you do need to add a little more more milk. You definitely do not need to add more sugar as some reviewers suggested. In the UK I would eat these with clotted cream and jam but clotted cream is difficult to get in the US so I serve them with real butter or heavy cream whipped until it's really thick and strawberry jam. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Really good scones, and really easy to make. We followed the suggestion to add an extra tablespoon of sugar, but I think it still needs some more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam and Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Super quick and easy with ingredients I had in stock on a snow day! Mixed it up in a food processor, followed other recommendations to add 3 TB sugar. I kneaded in dried cherries and white chocolate chips at the end, and patted it out into a 12 inch circle, then cut into wedges and baked as directed. They rose a little but didn't really spread out. Perfect, light texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Light, slightly sweet, and the perfect size and texture. I followed the recipe with the exception of the Cream of Tartar, which I did not have available. Simply wonderful scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
It was very good! For me instead of using a round i did balls. This time im going to try using clovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteCalicoCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Really nice plain scones. I used butter and skim milk. Dough was a bit dry so added a couple tablespoons more milk... so the baking soda would take off (like a Irish soda bread consistency). Work very fast or you'll loose some of the lightness. Baked on parchment over the drip rack on my roasting pan which created even heat all around. Tripled in height after about 12 minutes. Jam & buttered this morning, but will serve with soup tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Okay, I would've given it a 3, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt because I modified. I was looking for a basic scone recipe I could add coconut and chocolate chips to, and chose this one based on sweetness and reviews. I added 1/2 cup of sweetened shredded coconut and 1/3 cup choc chips, used 3 tsp baking powder rather than baking soda/cream of tartar (three because I was subbing in whole wheat white flour and it's just a bit heavier plus with the coconut I wanted to make sure of a good rise... it seemed to be the right amount as they rose as much as any scone I've made.) I also used a couple of pinches of sea salt rather than one pinch. Of course I used butter, and I also used some half and half to increase the wetness factor for the coconut. The scones are "okay." They're kind of dry and boring, but okay. I've used other recipes in the past with much better success. There's one that just takes cream from my Beard on bread book I think. I couldn't find that book this morning and was in a hurry so I chose this recipe from the site because it wasn't very sweet and when you're adding sweetened coconut and chocolate chips you don't want your dough very sweet. Like some others I had to add more than a half cup of milk to make a dough even though I had already added a bit of half and half to compensate for the coconut sucking up some of the liquid. Anyway, moist on the inside but the outside was too dry; I didn't brush with milk but I've never had to before...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
So not my favorite. They were an odd texture and had a funny after taste that I attribute to the cream of tartar. I'll not even try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Not quite the fluffy scones traditional to England, but these are still very good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States