Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
oops..didn't cook as recipe outlined...added cold butter not margarine....made some plain for strawberries and some with tasty goodies, my fav orange zest and raisin with cream cheese and powdered sugar frosting!! and of course coffee..Starbucks yuck! Mine yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We loved this one! I followed ingredients/instructions but did use Stevia (3 TBS) instead of sugar and butter instead of margarine. Light and tender with a very nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I use this recipe quite often. I do add some cranberries or raisins and such sometimes. It's wonderful everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lambertfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These are a little dry, even for scones. Definitely want to be served warm and softened in tea. But they rise beautifully in the oven and have a lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Very tasty, but a bit on the dry side. Unfortunately, my creations were not reminiscent of Tea & Sympathy's as another reviewer remarked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Wonderful! I followed other reviewers' advice ans used half white flour, half wheat, subbed baking powder for the soda and cream of tartar, subbed butter for margarine, and flattened the entire dough into a 1/2" thick circle before cutting into wedges. Baked perfectly and reheated well. I might try letting the dough rest a few minutes before baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I've never made scones before, and I'm not that great at baking. I followed the recipe almost exactly- I forgot to brush the scones with milk, and I needed a little more than 1/2 a cup of milk in the dough- and these came out wonderfully light and tender on the inside! They take so little time to do. Great recipe and lots of potential for add-ins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Increadiblly easy and delicious! Of course, use real butter. I used heavy whippinb cream instead of milk. Easy recipe to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I found these to be dry and wouldn't make this exact recipe again. They ARE low fat but for enjoying occassionally I would add two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Truly a great scone recipe, but PLEASE... replace the margarine with butter. I think this really must be an error on the submitters part, because it is virtually impossible to make a true scone out of margarine. My UK cousins would just say "EW" at the thought. However, if you replace with butter and don't over-knead the dough, you should be fine. Any crumbs that are left in the bowl, just pat on the scone. Also, not sure where cutting them out with a bisquit cutter came from, but I generally do it the British/Scottish way and make a large 6" circle and score it in 'pie' pieces. That is the only way I have ever seen them when I've been in the British Isles. Granted, there are the 'factory' scones that are in shapes, but ... just sayin'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States