Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I have been baking scones for many, many years, but finding this recipe was wonderful. Best scones I ever made. I did not have cream of tartar so I substituted one teaspoon of baking powder instead of the soda and cream of tartar. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These were great at Christmas. My new British son-in-law loved them with Devon cream and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was a good scones recipe for when you do not have sour cream or heavy cream in the house. I used 2 tsp of baking powder instead of the cream of tarter and baking soda and substituted butter for the margarine. Next time I'd try adding orange zest, cranberries, chocolate chips, or frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EngineerAndFoodie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is makes a delicious and flaky scone! I stumbled upon this recipe while trying to find one for blueberry scones with no heavy cream. This recipe served as the perfect base for improvisation. I replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour (fiber!), added an additional tablespoon of sugar, replaced the milk with almond milk (lactose intolerant) and added a heaping 1/2 cup of frozen blueberries. I had to double the baking time since I may have made my scones a little large, but the end result was delicious, flaky, slightly sweet blueberry scones! Add a bit of Earth Balance buttery spread on top and you've got breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is a great version of the british scone. It is meant to be round and not triangular like a previous reviewer suggested. I agree that you could substitute baking powder for cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Made as written and I wouldn't change a thing! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is exactly the same as one published by a cook at Buckingham Palace as the one used for the royal family. I grew up in England in the 1950s, and that's the one we always used. Nobody would have dreamed of using butter - it was still rationed at the time, but I do use it now. Although these scones seem bland and not very interesting to Americans, English people like them a lot, and they take very well to clotted cream and strawberry jam, for the traditional "cream tea" advertised in the windows of cottages in England. They don't heat up well, so it's good to make just enough for one tea-time. Have the butter very cold and cut it into tiny, tiny cubes (pea size or less) with two sharp knives. Pour in the liquid all at once - the exact quantity is a matter of experience with your kind of flour, it should be just enough to bind the dough together. You don't ever knead it: you sort of pat it together to encourage it to bind. Then you pat it out thickly on your lightly floured board and cut the scones out with a two inch circle cutter or small glass dipped in flour. Personally I bake them at 450 for about 10 minutes. I never had triangular scones in England. This must b e a Scottish or Irish habit or something! I was delighted to find thee old friends on allrecipes. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this vegan by using 2.5 teaspoons of baking powder instead of tarter and baking soda. I also did 1/2 wheat flour and used almond milk instead of milk and veg shortening instead of butter. It was super tasty! a great low sugar breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
BF loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States