Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
What a disappointment! This are bland and boring. The cooking time of 10 minutes needed to be doubled and I had to add more liquid. I used butter for the flavor-but there was none. This recipe is aptly named...basic to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is the only scone recipe you need! These turn out perfect every time and they're not loaded with fat like some scones. I make these with butter instead of margarine and I usually use 3 tablespoons of sugar instead of 2 (1/8 cup). Good additions are 1 tablespoon of orange zest and dried cranberries or 1/2 cup frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Very Delicious! I made first batch straight off of the recipe and it was perfect: light and airy scone, not heavy like others. Second time I made it I made 4 large scone: 1 plain, 1 with dried cranberries and almond slices, 1 with chocolate chips, and 1 with berry jam (a little wet, I added more flour) swirled in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Finally! The perfect scone recipe. And easy. Forget the creme recipes & stuff. I substituted butter and baked at 450 for 12-15 minutes and added a tad more sugar. Also- roll out thick because mine did not rise. And I've added stuff in, like cranberries and orange, etc. It's great- you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
These were absolutely delicious! Very easy to make, too. I tried sprinkling some cinnamon and sugar on top before I baked them, and that came out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I like this recipe very much. My husband is from overseas and says it's pretty darn good. I add currants to this recipe, not raisins, they are to big and to sweet. This is great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I made them with half cream and half milk and they tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Thanks Angela! Very easy to make and a great basic scone. I made mine with half whole wheat and butter. I think these are lighter than those at Tea & Sympathy, and therefore better for my diet. Of course those at T&S are a wonderful treat now and then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
These were quick and easy to make. I had planned to add some blueberries, but when I saw the dough was pretty dense I was afraid they would get all broken up if I tried to mix them in. I also decided to cut the scones into triangles. I wasn't sure how much the scones would spread as they baked, and since they hardly spread at all, my triangles were too small. BUT, they tasted great in spite of all this and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very good! I made these for my Scottish friends and they loved them. I added mini-chocolate chips to one batch and raspberry jam to another. They took a little longer to bake than the recipe ways, but that could be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States