Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I was looking for an easy scone to serve with supper. These were delish, but required a bit more milk than the recipe called for. The kids loved them, and ate up ate extras for a bedtime lunch. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
Now THIS is a good British scone! It is simple and delicious, just the right scone to have with the traditional clotted cream and strawberry jam. I also use this very recipe for strawberry shortcake by splitting the warm scones and layering them with sliced strawberries that have been macerated in sugar and heavy cream that has been whipped with a little sugar and vanilla extract -- delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I've attempted scones with a few other recipes with results resembling hockey pucks. This recipe came out very well. Nice, big, soft scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
These were pretty good--the first batch was a little bland, so I added some blueberries, spices, and buttermilk instead of regular milk. Note: They don't spread, they just puff up, so keep that in mind when you're cutting/shaping them. Also, better to underbak them than to overbake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Should be served with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
These scones turned out great! I made them for a tea party and everyone loved them. I sprinkled a little sugar on top when they came out of the oven to give them a little sparkle. If you're looking for a good basic scone, this is the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
The perfect companion to a cup of tea! Very easy. I made them exactly as directed, and they turned out perfectly. I almost added more milk, as the dough looked very dry, but after kneading it for a moment, it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These were easy and fun to make, and came out very well. I added a little more milk than the recipe said to. I cut 2" diameter circles, and made 35 altogether. They were delicious with honey on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
What a disappointment! This are bland and boring. The cooking time of 10 minutes needed to be doubled and I had to add more liquid. I used butter for the flavor-but there was none. This recipe is aptly named...basic to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is the only scone recipe you need! These turn out perfect every time and they're not loaded with fat like some scones. I make these with butter instead of margarine and I usually use 3 tablespoons of sugar instead of 2 (1/8 cup). Good additions are 1 tablespoon of orange zest and dried cranberries or 1/2 cup frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States