Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was a great recipe for a scone. They are wonderful! To make mine sweeter, i used 1/4 cup sugar and added vanilla extract. You can use anywhere from 1/4 to 1/2 of a teaspoon of the vanilla. I also mixed some vanilla with the milk to brush on top of it before baking and sprinkled sugar on top to give it a nice golden brown finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
The only change I made to this recipe was to add 140g of raisins. Other than that, exactly as written, which is saying something for me! Short and delicious - English even to someone from England. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Perfect scones every time, goes great with the lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Yummy! I used real butter instead of margarine and also sprinkled the tops with some white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Great traditional scone recipe! I added 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/8 to give it more sweetness. I only got 9 out of the recipe instead of 12, but overall it's fantastic! I tried it with cream and homemade lemon curd and they were divine! Light and fluffy - thanks for the recipe! I will be serving them at our church Mother's Day tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
These are alright, but true British scones are sweeter and fluffier. I halved the recipe, and ended up with 5 rather small, thin scones. I will probably make these again but will add more sugar, and will aim to make 10 thick scones using the stated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
These were the best scones I have had since I live in England over 10 years ago! To all those "scone" lovers out there these are about the closest you can get to a real English Scone without flying to England to have one. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I have made this scone many times and every time, I get compliments, even my six year old niece loves it. I use the same recipe using extra old cheddar sometimes and it is a nice mix in flavour with the strong cheese and sugar. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
These were fabulous! Loved them, loved them! Crispy on the outside and so very soft and fluffy on the inside. I am a sweet tooth but I count calories, so I substituted the sugar for 1 cup of Splenda and used Country Crock with Yogart spread. I didn't have cream of tartar, so used 4 teaspons of baking powder in place of that and the baking soda. I also added some frozen blueberries. They were really wonderful! And barely a 100 calories each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe was amazing... I'm an impatient and clumsy cook, and I still managed to make these incredible scones. They taste excellent even after a day or two, not growing dense or overly moist. My complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States