Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Yummy! I used real butter instead of margarine and also sprinkled the tops with some white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Great traditional scone recipe! I added 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/8 to give it more sweetness. I only got 9 out of the recipe instead of 12, but overall it's fantastic! I tried it with cream and homemade lemon curd and they were divine! Light and fluffy - thanks for the recipe! I will be serving them at our church Mother's Day tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
These are alright, but true British scones are sweeter and fluffier. I halved the recipe, and ended up with 5 rather small, thin scones. I will probably make these again but will add more sugar, and will aim to make 10 thick scones using the stated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
These were the best scones I have had since I live in England over 10 years ago! To all those "scone" lovers out there these are about the closest you can get to a real English Scone without flying to England to have one. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I have made this scone many times and every time, I get compliments, even my six year old niece loves it. I use the same recipe using extra old cheddar sometimes and it is a nice mix in flavour with the strong cheese and sugar. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
These were fabulous! Loved them, loved them! Crispy on the outside and so very soft and fluffy on the inside. I am a sweet tooth but I count calories, so I substituted the sugar for 1 cup of Splenda and used Country Crock with Yogart spread. I didn't have cream of tartar, so used 4 teaspons of baking powder in place of that and the baking soda. I also added some frozen blueberries. They were really wonderful! And barely a 100 calories each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe was amazing... I'm an impatient and clumsy cook, and I still managed to make these incredible scones. They taste excellent even after a day or two, not growing dense or overly moist. My complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
These are awesome scones! They were all gone 20 minutes after they came out of the oven. The boys DEVOURED them! Thanks for the recipe Angela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
so delicious. they taste so good, i can't believe they're as healthy as they are. if you are a poor college student and do not have parchment paper, just grease and flour a cookie sheet. they didn't stick at all. and if you want to add chocolate chips or blueberries, try mixing them in before you add the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I just bakes these, and they turned out wonderful. I did not add anything, like berries, fruit, spices or chocolate; they are great as is; but you certainly can with this basic recipe. Thank you very much, this is exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States