Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
mmm... all the ingredients and proportions are correct, only mine turned out like little ugly stones Will try again, I constantly get confused with American measurements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
These are perfect, just like my mum makes and she was born in England! Made them with black currants. It is hard to find a true scone in the US...the things they call scones are overly sweet baking powder biscuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Needed more sugar, maybe double. Otherwise, quite bland. Or add raisins and currants. I only added 1/4 cup currants, but it still wasnt sweet. And maybe I'll add Vanilla next time, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made these exactly as written, except with butter instead of margarine, and they were delicious. No need to add sugar, no need for clotted cream or jam -they were delicious "as is." A great economical snack for the kids. Make sure you sift the dry ingredients and don't handle the dough any more than absolutely necessary. And eat them warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I used whole wheat instead of white flour and doubled the suger and added vanilla (as suggested) and it still was great. Next I am going to try with this with splenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
these were seriously delicious and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Bravo Angela! these were pretty amazing. I´m a Londoner living in Spain, It´s not particularly easy to find scones in sunny spain, so I was over the moon to have found this recipe. Have made them twice, they kept well in an air tight container and tasted simply delicious. Got it all to be a keeper. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I changed the milk to make these vegan. I also doubled the sugar and added vanilla following other suggestions here. They are just fabulous!!! My whole family just devoured a double batch and are asking for more NOW!! Recommend highly, you won't be disappointed. We also used cookie cutters and made shapes which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is a wonderfully yummy recipe. I took the advice of some other reviewers and doubled the sugar and added 1/4 tsp. vanilla....I can't wait to try some of the other variations suggested!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Simply scrumptious scones! I ate the entire batch in one sitting. I also doubled the sugar like most other reviewers reccomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States