Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I made this recipe last night, no need to say they were all gone by lunch the next day. Delicious and seems very versatile. For this first time I added 1/8 tsp. cinnamon, a pinch of nutmed, a little bit of vanilla, half a cup of raisins. I pressed the dough into a big circle between 1/2 and 3/4 inches thick and cut it in triangles that I subdivided in smaller bites. It required more cooking than the recipe mentionned ; about 15 minutes in my oven. I will definitely make more for friends and family on the next occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Great recipe. I did not roll the dough out. Inside I rolled the dough into balls with my hands and placed on the cookie sheet. The scones turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Delicious - will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I had a little accident with the milk, adding a bit too much so that the dough was too wet and gooey to roll out. Instead, I dropped 1/4 cupfuls onto the baking sheet. And it STILL came out tasting wonderful! Slightly crispy on the outside and light, airy, and moist on the inside! A recipe that can stand a few mistakes and still turn out is definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Absolutely fabulous. Didn't have to change a thing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Sorry texture and flavour just not right for a true British scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I agree with MSFLISS on the "scones, not cookies" bit. I made the recipe as stated, except for using butter instead of margarine and thought they were perfect. Just a hint of sweetness, and light and airy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missus wife
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This recipe is fabulous! I've never been able to make decent biscuits, but these scones just popped right up like nobody's business. I think I put in a bit of extra sugar because I didn't have a 1/8 c measure and had to eyeball it. The scones came out perfect--not too sweet and not too bland. The only thing I would do differently next time is use a bigger cookie cutter, I think they would be better if they were about 4" in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
exactly the texture that I was looking for in a scone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very nice! Light, fluffy, a hint of sweetness. I think people are crazy for saying you should double the sugar or add vanilla - these are scones, not cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States