Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I made this recipe last night, no need to say they were all gone by lunch the next day. Delicious and seems very versatile. For this first time I added 1/8 tsp. cinnamon, a pinch of nutmed, a little bit of vanilla, half a cup of raisins. I pressed the dough into a big circle between 1/2 and 3/4 inches thick and cut it in triangles that I subdivided in smaller bites. It required more cooking than the recipe mentionned ; about 15 minutes in my oven. I will definitely make more for friends and family on the next occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Great recipe. I did not roll the dough out. Inside I rolled the dough into balls with my hands and placed on the cookie sheet. The scones turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Delicious - will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I had a little accident with the milk, adding a bit too much so that the dough was too wet and gooey to roll out. Instead, I dropped 1/4 cupfuls onto the baking sheet. And it STILL came out tasting wonderful! Slightly crispy on the outside and light, airy, and moist on the inside! A recipe that can stand a few mistakes and still turn out is definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Absolutely fabulous. Didn't have to change a thing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Sorry texture and flavour just not right for a true British scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I agree with MSFLISS on the "scones, not cookies" bit. I made the recipe as stated, except for using butter instead of margarine and thought they were perfect. Just a hint of sweetness, and light and airy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missus wife
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This recipe is fabulous! I've never been able to make decent biscuits, but these scones just popped right up like nobody's business. I think I put in a bit of extra sugar because I didn't have a 1/8 c measure and had to eyeball it. The scones came out perfect--not too sweet and not too bland. The only thing I would do differently next time is use a bigger cookie cutter, I think they would be better if they were about 4" in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
exactly the texture that I was looking for in a scone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very nice! Light, fluffy, a hint of sweetness. I think people are crazy for saying you should double the sugar or add vanilla - these are scones, not cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States