Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is an incredibly easy recipe! I added more milk to the batter and put pats of butter on the tops of the scones right before baking for a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Whipped cream... strawberry jam... yummy!!! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I love this! Very close to what I eat in England :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Good. I am very inexperienced with Scones but these were fairly easy. I did add a little bit more milk. I rolled out my dough too thin so I cut some in strips, put chopped walnuts between & covered with another strip. Next time I will add blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
These scones were pretty good - not a dry scone. My kids sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on them before baking which added some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montclair, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I've been living in England for a little while now, and I decided it was time to learn to make these. This recipe is perfect! They taste just like what I've been getting over here. I added some frozen blueberries to mine. It was a little messier and I had to work fast, but they really are tasty. It also helps to use chilled butter, cut it into cubes, and use your hands to mix it in. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was a great recipe, and really easy to prepare. My husband who has been to the UK several times claimed that they tasted authentic. The only thing I did differently was instead of cutting out the rounds I separated the dough in half and shaped each half into a large circle - 3/4 inch thick. Then cut them like a pie into six slices each and baked them that way. They looked more like the typical scone and baked perfectly. Again, great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These are good - and coming from an English person that means something! I added raisens, as in England, you cant have raisen-less scones!! Served with clotted cream and jam, and they're lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I make these for afternoon tea with my husband's Nan (who spent the first 65 years of her life in Kent, England - and she loves them!! My family also enjoys them as an easy breakfast! They are perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
easy to make and everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States