Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Having spent the last 12 yrs. in England, I found these scones very authentic in tast & texture. The brits often like to add currents. The traditional shape is a large circle (not triangles), serve with jam,thick whipped cream & a cup of strong, milky tea and you'll experience a true "English afternoon tea"! I brought them to my son's 3rd grade class for his heritage project, the kids loved them w/the jam & thick cream!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is the best recipe for easy scones! My scones always turned out like rock cakes that didn't rise, not now. I used 2tsp cream of tartar,1tsp baking soda and 1/2cup of milk. I also used "Splenda" low cal sweetner instead of sugar to make it diabetic friendly. Don't over mix and lightly knead (5 times)Position high in the oven and the cooking time is 15 minutes for perfect scones.I also added sultanas to one batch by pressing them into the dough before i cut them into rounds. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I am sorry, but these scones were a real disappointment. I was making these for my boyfriend's birthday breakfast. I followed the recipe exactly, baking for ten minutes at 220 C, and they came out completely raw. I also agree with the other reviewers who said the recipe didn't call for enough sugar. I live in London and am used to scones that are not too sweet, but these were bland and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This was my very first time having scones they were were good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Amazing basic scone recipe! I added about 1/2 a cup more sugar and some lemon zest for wonderful blueberry scones. I used this recipe again, following it exactly for ham and cheese scones. This is the best foundation for any scone you can imagine! Thanks so much, I will use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I really like this recipe, it's so quick! I also added rosemary and cheddar cheese to one batch and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was a very easy, very tasty recipe. I actually used a cookie cutter and made cute little shapes of my scones and people loved them. I added lemon zest about a 1/2 cup more sugar so they were slightly sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerdunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I thought these were very good. The dough was a little hard to work with, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
These are easier to make than I thought they would be! Good flavor and texture. Will add blueberries next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I doubled the size and served them in a traditional shape. Same cook time and they were crunchy on the outside while soft on the inside. We loved them and ate them all! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States