Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
These were great! I didn't have any cream of tartar, so I substituted triple the amount lemon juice to give the recipe enough acid and worked out fine. Absolutely delicious, and such an easy recipe... especially if you opt to skip the rolling out and just shape little pucks by hand ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
It's really good! I personally like plain scones. I did have to use about 1/2 C more milk for a soft dough and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I also used butter. Just in general whenever a recipe calls for shortening I use butter. I've also made lemon and blueberry scones with this recipe. I add the zest of one lemon and 2 C fresh blueberries. It's a great base for different kind of scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocooned

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I cut these into the triangle shapes I'm used to for scones, and these turned out yummy. A little too simple for my taste, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I love this recipe, but I throw caution to the wind & use real butter. :) They are so fast to make. Even though there are recipes specifically for the addition of berries & such, I just add dried cranberries to this recipes towards the end. They taste best when they are still warm. I have added them to many tea parties over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Yummy! This is my first time making scones. I doubled the batch and substituted half of the flour with whole wheat graham flour. A little coffee shop that I love makes these with diced dried apricots and white chocolate chips. I made half of them with the diced apricots, but didn't have any white chocolate. These are superb and don't need any extra sugar. They are not supposed to be like cookies. The other half I added frozen raspberries. This made the dough a little harder to work with because it made it a little more moist, but these also turned out wonderful! Also, I didn't have any parchment paper, but used a silicone baking mat that I have. Thank you so much for this great recipe! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
These were really delicious -- not too sweet, like most scones I've tried. I added 2/3 cups of coarsely chopped walnuts and a tsp. of orange zest (about one orange). I also swapped out the extra two tablespoons of milk for orange juice. The scones were so good, and came out just like they were supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I substituted four teaspoons of baking powder instead of baking soda, 3/4 teaspoon of salt instead of a pinch, 1/3 cup of white sugar instead of an 1/8, and 3/4 cup of cream instead of milk. I also added two tablespoons of shortening and one egg to mixture. I did not add the cream of tartar. I served them halved with strawberry jam and whipped cream. My version: 5 stars, this version: 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipsuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Arleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Having spent the last 12 yrs. in England, I found these scones very authentic in tast & texture. The brits often like to add currents. The traditional shape is a large circle (not triangles), serve with jam,thick whipped cream & a cup of strong, milky tea and you'll experience a true "English afternoon tea"! I brought them to my son's 3rd grade class for his heritage project, the kids loved them w/the jam & thick cream!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is the best recipe for easy scones! My scones always turned out like rock cakes that didn't rise, not now. I used 2tsp cream of tartar,1tsp baking soda and 1/2cup of milk. I also used "Splenda" low cal sweetner instead of sugar to make it diabetic friendly. Don't over mix and lightly knead (5 times)Position high in the oven and the cooking time is 15 minutes for perfect scones.I also added sultanas to one batch by pressing them into the dough before i cut them into rounds. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I am sorry, but these scones were a real disappointment. I was making these for my boyfriend's birthday breakfast. I followed the recipe exactly, baking for ten minutes at 220 C, and they came out completely raw. I also agree with the other reviewers who said the recipe didn't call for enough sugar. I live in London and am used to scones that are not too sweet, but these were bland and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States