Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
These are awesome. The only thing I did different was replace the margarine with butter and increased the sugar to 1/4 cup. My husband is a scone addict and would always buy them at Starbucks. Now he won't even give those ones a second glance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These scones were delicious! We cooked them a little bit longer to get a nice golden brown color, but overall the recipe worked very well. Especially with Crab Apple Jelly! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These were okay. I think that with some tweaking, they could be better. I would make them again, but next time I would make a double recipe, roll the dough a little thicker, and use a bigger cutter to yield larger scones. I would also add a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
We loved these, but I did add some ingredients to make them a little more "fun". I halved the batch and made one with chocolate chips. To the other one, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, white chocolate chips and finely crushed walnuts. My daughters and husband liked them and called them "breakfast cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I loved this recipe. As everyone else does, made a few modifications. Added 1/4 c. sugar. Sometimes add cranberries & orange zest, other times add mini choc chips. Didn't roll out - divided into 12 sections and rolled each into a ball. Slightly flattened to 3/4" and baked. Drizzled with glaze. My kids LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
My go to recipe for scones! Quick, easy and taste great! I usually add cinnamon and chocolate chips or dried fruit just to make them even yummier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I added cinnamon and raisins and these were quite good. They are not very sweet, but very tasty. I would suggest making them larger than 2" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Very Good! Used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 2 tbsp sugar. Next time will roll to 1" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Wow these were great! I used the exact ingredients and they came out perfect. One thing i would suggest is to use a slightly bigger cutter like a 2 and a half inch instead of a 2 since they were quite small. Its a good recipe so i'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I've never had an actual English scone, but these turned out great for me! I made them plain to serve underneath a homemade strawberry topping! I did add 1/8 teaspoon ea. of vanilla and cinnamon, for my own touch. I cut them about 3" diameter and smooshed a slight bowl in the middle to hold some of the strawberries. Pretty danged good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miketheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States