Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
These are amazing. If you like them, add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I have to laugh a bit at the reviews complaining that the lack of milk and butter in this recipe make these scones "too dry." Well... that's a genuine British scone: dry. You eat them with tea. This recipe is really perfect nearly-as-is (USE BUTTER, NOT MARGARINE) but if you're expecting an American biscuit (a British biscuit is a cookie) or muffin-pastry hybrid with a moist fluffy inside then you need to find a different recipe. The texture is nice and light, with a perfect crumb. Just keep an eye on them in the oven or they really will be too dry (you're not looking for biscotti). My own oven can be unpredictable being a gas oven, so while I time them per the recipe I still keep an eye on the color to be a nice light golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Salafia
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
It was okay. I mixed in coconut and toffee bits. Very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
We loved these scones and we made them exactly to the recipe. :) I made another batch with 1 cup chocolate chip...delicious!!! Thank you for this recipe. Oh,I shaped them into little hearts...so cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is such a simple recipe, and even works well with half the flour being a whole grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is THE best scone recipe I have ever tried. It's so simple and moist, for me they didn't come out dry at all (though a little crumbly, but in a good way). I first tried them in school, because my cooking teacher picked this recipe out for us to try. We didn't really know what "cream of tartar" was and if we have that here in Sweden, so I've always skipped it and the scones have been perfect every single time anyway! Thanks so much for this recipe, it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofiedoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe is perfect. Every other recipe I looked up was a lemonade or lemon-lime soda scone and I just wanted a basic traditional scone. This recipe is great, I followed it exactly, but only used margarine due to a shortage in butter.. hey, i needed butter on top more than in the bread. I will definitely try butter next time. Butter will be purely for personal preference, as using margarine still produced a superb basic scone. My husband loved it. My English father-in-law will be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I make these scones frequently, and they go quickly in our house! They are delicious, and not dissimilar to scones we pick up regularly when back in the UK. I actually prefer cutting them into triangles, but my husband still likes the rounded biscuit shape, so we do them both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I tried this. Mmmmm.... My sister-in-law is from England. These are as close to hers as I can get. Soo good. The recipe said to use 1/2 cup milk to get a soft dough. No way that was happening. I had to add about 1/4 to 1/3 cup more milk, but it was still delicious. I made these 2 nights ago and am getting ready to make them again. Change the recipe? Why mess with perfection? (Did you noticed that I like this one?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Clauss Walrath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I really like the scones from Tea and Sympathy so I was excited to try this recipe, but I ended up being totally disappointed. The scones looked just like the one in the picture but I didn't like the texture or the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States