Basic Brine for Smoking Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
My dad uses this recipe for smoking ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
GREAT FOR TURKEY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
it is real good on turkey add bourbon or apple juice bay leaves or any other spice you like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
It did its job! I added rosemary and cajun spices to it, and the turkey (applewood-smoked free-range) was phenomenal. Use the recipe on this site that includes cola. It was the best. This brine was very easy to prepare. Although I had to prepare the equivalent of 45 servings to cover a 12 lb turkey. And it was still difficult to cover. But I used an oven bag, which added in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I have added liquid smoke to my Brine. It seems to enhance the flavor of the hickory smoke. Great recipe. Thanks, John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOKSHU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I've been using the basic recipe for over a year now. I make a 2-3 or 4 gallon batch and use a tote bin I got from Wal-Mart. When I smoke I smoke between 4-10 turkeys and various other meats. If you get the turkies split-they brine better, they stack better to utilize the space in the brine and the smoke permeates the birds better. I've added apple juice,hot red pepper,onion soup mix,fresh onion and peppers from the garden,and seasonings like worcestershire sauce,soy,teriacki and jamican jerk to spice up the brine. I like to "pickle" my meats 2-3 days about 38-40 degrees.I also like to inject some of the brine into them. Just lay em on the racks for 8-12 hours depending how hot your smoker is, and your good to go. Slow and low-the best way to go. Share your ideas and recipes here. Keep Smokin Ron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG MIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Great Brine. Very tender after soaking all night in the frig. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Hey "Smokin' Ron"; your name may be hot, but your recipe is really cool! I bought my hubby a smoker for Valentines Day and because we FINALLY had a beautiful warm weekend, he decided to christian it. He smoked a salmon filet and it was abolutely wonderful! Drew took your advice and added soy sauce and various seasonings. I love fish, but salmon isn't one of my favorites, however, this fish smoked is absolutely awesome!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was my first brine to use. I didn't use the brown sugar though :) I am not into a lot of sweet on my grill. I dont use sugar in my bbq sauce or on my meats. But it was a good base and gave me a ratio of salt to water to work with. Thanks. Worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Nothing fancy, but works well. I used this on our Thanksgiving Day turkey. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States