Basic Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I have never made stuffing from scratch before in my life. This recipe was so easy and soooooo good. I'm not a stuffing eatter, but I got nothing but compliments and an empty dish by the time Thanksgiving dinner was over. I will definately be making my stuffing myself from now on. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Ours turned out too dry - could be our fault. The recipe didn't call for it, but I think it should have been covered (we cooked ours outside the bird). I'll try it that way next time and see if it remedies the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I used challah bread because I forgot to buy the bread for this, plus I added dried cranberries and toasted walnuts to this for Christmas 2001. It was really, really easy and tasted great. I plan on using this same recipe with different variations for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I cooked the onions first. Almost to a carmelized affect, then added a tablespoon of sugar and 3 tablespoons of butter in with the onions in the pan. On the side I tore off fresh bread into cube or smaller size and poured chicken broth on it. You want the bread completely covered but not drenched. Then mix the bread in the pan and cook on medium keep turning every few 5 mintues letting the mix get a little golden brown. Again I added some more butter, about 2-3 tablespoons and some salt and pepper. Afterwards add to the bird or cook in the oven. I found in the bird the stuffing was moist alone it was more dry. So you may want to add a bit more broth before cooking in oven if you are doing it out of bird. Which is the way I preferred it. P.S. Use sweet onions for this dish. I actually didn't try the egg substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Pretty Good. I added mushrooms & it was kind of gluppy so I broke up the glup pieces half-way through cooking. I think my bread crumbs weren't fresh enough also. Not really the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a very simple recipe to follow! I toasted bread before cutting, I used vegetable broth instead of Chicken, 2 onions, a pinch of cayenne, and real egg. Used it in a broccoli casserole dish and turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I reduced the whole wheat bread to 3 cups and added 3 cups of corn toasting bread. I also added chopped chestnuts, which I roasted (1 lb unshelled) before adding to the mixture. While everyone enjoyed the chestnuts and cornbread, there were complaints that the onions overpowered the dish. Next time, I'll only add one sweet onion and carmelize in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedDragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
1 tablespoon of paprika?Maybe other reviewers only added a teaspoon, I did a double take and then eventually trusted the recipe which was a big mistake. I made it outside of a turkey and it came out really really soggy as well. Given other reviewers remarks there may be some subtleties in getting the right volume of liquid in the final product. The soggy paprika bread-soup that resulted was comically bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very bland. I even added smoked almonds, onion powder, garlic powder and sundry other things to pump it up and it was still a flop. It was also kind of mushy. Healthy, yes. Delicious, not so much. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Comiskey-Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
When I do dressing I make a 9x13 pan full of coucornbread No sugar add poultry seasoning, sage, celery, onion,etc. and cook it in the cornbread with jumbo eggs and milk. cook in 375 degree oven until done then I use 2 large packets seasoned dressing mix crumble the cornbread in with seasoned mix enough broth to make it juicy add salt and pepper. Bake until done. It won't take as long because veggies are cooked some. I also add 6 or 8 raw eggs into mixture this will give texture ane hold it together. I use diluted broth from turkey and add chicken broth as needed. I taste it to see what else it needs. I use the roate rpan I cook the bird in.cook till ia knifr inserted in crnter comed ouy clern. Abut 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States