Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made these several times, there is too much of a salty, dry, flour taste and not much flavor at all. On the plus side, mine looked beautiful, they did rise some, and were very flaky and soft . I'm planning on trying the same recipe with buttermilk and/or using butter instead of shortening. I'm not giving up yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
They did not rise at all, not sure where I went wrong, followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ryrysmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Substituted all butter for the shortening and these came out great. Very quick and easy. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Terrible. I followed this recipe exactly. They did not rise and are tasteless. That is what I get for trying a recipe that seemed too easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
parfait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Having never made biscuits before, I decided to give this a try and wow! they were great. Now I make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I just made half of this recipe and finished eating. My biscuits came out flat, probably due to old baking powder. Also I used light butter instead of shortening and I used 1% milk. But they were not hard as bricks, so I ate some anyway. They were tasty and great with a little southern gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Made these to go with homemade beef stew and they turned out beautifully. I didn't have a 1/2" band for my rolling pin so I used the 3/8" and they rose with no problem. Next time I'm going to make a double batch so we have extras for breakfast in the AM:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These are very similar to the recipe my mom made growing up as a kid. This is the first time I have ever attempted homemade biscuits without them turning out like rocks! Will definitely use the recipe again...biscuits came out very soft and tender. I made sure not to over handle the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MissiLLScarlett
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are incredibly flakey and delicious. I fallowed another users advice, and used cold grated butter. They turned out perfectly. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissiLLScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States