Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Turned out great. I made a smaller portion and still were wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
These were pretty good. I had to use butter to substitute the shortening the first time. I'm hoping they will be even better when I use the shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixoflife137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
So easy! I was nervous as it was my first time making biscuits from scratch. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great recipe, very quick, used butter. Perfect yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Used hot butter, added 1 tablespoon of sugar, and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Perfect biscuits! My husband and son want them with everything! Super easy, super scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
The dough has a wonderful consistency but my biscuits didn't rise hardly at all as well (as other reviewers have stated). The biscuit is not light and fluffy and its lacking in flavor. I give it 5 stars for the dough and only 3 stars for everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These always turn out perfectly and my neighbor told me they are even better than her grandmothers - but I'm not supposed to tell anyone... I should mention that I use salted butter instead of shortening. Once the dough is flattened out, I flour, fold and flatten - repeat twice more. This will give the biscuits the layers that make them light and wonderful. I used to think of this as over handling and thought it would make the biscuits hard, but not so. oh - and one more thing. I don't use a biscuit cutter. I use a sharp knife to cut each one out. This keeps the edges of the dough from smooshing down and preventing them from rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
These are good but not as great as I hoped. I felt like there is too much shortening; leaving an oily residue after eating. I made the recipe as directed; no modifications, no substitutions, nothing. That being said, I am not a biscuit-pro and these actually looked like biscuits :) Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Was in the mood for biscuits this morning but couldn't find my baking soda so I used this recipe. I think they should have turned out better but they didn't rise. They were still nice and flaky because I know how to make biscuits so I'm stumped on what went wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States