Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Made these this morning and I used half a cup of real salted butter instead of the shortening. They turned out perfect and were delicious. Very light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
These are amazing biscuits! I also used very cold butter instead of shortening and I added a little extra butter, approximately another 1/4 of a stick. They always turn out perfectly and I've even made they dough in food processor following all the steps and they turn out just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy, works great. Like other reviewers have said be sure not to twist when you cut the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used "refined lard" instead of shortening and self-rising flour instead of AP flour + powder + salt... OMG SOOOOOOOOO good. we made biscuits-with-fresh-berries and stew-dumplings. Both were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Fabulous and easy to throw together with just a few ingredients. Didn't have a round cookie cutter so I used the mouth of a glass instead, works fine. Loved these both in savoury dishes with sausage, and in sweet with a little jam spread on them. Can't go wrong following these instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I found the biscuits to be doughy in the middle and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imenchanted

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This makes a great flaky biscuit, but doesn't have a whole lot of flavor. I think I would recommend more salt. I would also recommend turning the heat down a smidgeon so that you can role the biscuits a little thicker. Finally, there is an after tastes of baking powder that I would have preferred not to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
If you've had trouble with biscuits in the past...look no further. This basic recipe is a no brainer and just as easy and quick as any I've ever done. All of the substitutions will work...particularly the swap out of shortening with butter and too...sour or buttermilk. Some tricks besides folding the dough to layer it, is don't over-handle the dough, and using a sharp cutter that won't crush the dough as you're cutting the biscuit. It allows the dough to expand while baking...giving that flaky end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was my first time making biscuits EVER!!! I wanted a delicious and easy biscuit recipe to make for my husband because he adores Mcdonalds biscuits and I want him to love mine as much if not more!!! This was a hit!! As soon as they came out the oven, my husband and daughter devoured them!! I made this to the recipe exact, and they came out PERFECT!! The best by far, now I'm wondering what else I can add to them and different variations?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These are by far the best biscuits I've attempted so far. Like others I had some trouble with mine rising, but I think that has to do with personal error rather than anything in the recipe. Biscuits can be so finicky. Even though mine failed to rise much, they still tasted great. I can see these being delicious with sausage gravy or even with some butter and jam for breakfast. I'll definitely be trying these again. Hopefully I can get them to rise a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States