Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The taste of these biscuits were yummy but mine did not rise like I thought they would. I was disappointed when they didn't look like the picture. I was careful to not overwork the dough and they were still pretty flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Zeeeebest!! I suggest you use Julie's ? suggestions, it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These are great! I usually do buttermilk but ran out, this was a great alternative. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are the flakiest biscuits I have ever made. I used a stick of cold butter and shredded it in like Julie W suggested and it is delicious! To make these brown better on top, I run my fingers under the tap and lightly pat a little water on them right before I put them in the oven. I also make these in double batches to freeze. Take out what you need and bake right away, increase baking time or thaw on the counter or over night in the fridge. I "square" cut these out with a pastry blade and the recipe makes 12- 2"x2"x1/2" biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanbaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
swapped the shortening for butter. Came out great! Have used this many times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcableou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Love how short and simple the ingredients list is. The biscuits came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Super yummy! Use butter instead of shortening for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great biscuits. I haven't had much luck making biscuits until I found this recipe. I took the advice from one reviewer and used butter instead of shortening. I grated the cold butter and added it to the dry mixture a little at a time, mixing as I went along. Flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Queez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I followed the directions and they came out perfectly. This recipes includes all basics for all general biscuit recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States