Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Awesome recipe! Used 1/4c butter and 1/4c shortening. I put the butter in the freezer for about 10 minutes to keep it cold. Then used my Ninja to "cut" the cold butter and shortening into the dry mixture. I followed the recipe the rest of the way. They turned out perfectly. Soft, flaky and delicious. This was my first time making biscuits and I ROCKED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
made this twice, both times came out like white hockey pucks. I followed directions but used cold butter not shortening. Both times very dry and dense. My only thought is I am over working the dough. GIVE ME YEAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by havok12th

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is very good. I always add some cheese to it to make it cheese biscuits. I also put cheese on top so it melts in the oven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These are great! I wanted a simple biscuit to go with my chili and these worked perfect! I did make a couple changes, used butter instead of shortening and used garlic salt instead of regular salt and was perfect with chili. (would not use garlic for biscuits and gravy) but would be good with italian meals but next time I will double the salt when using the garlic not quite strong enough for me, just a hint of flavor the way they are. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
So good! I used organic shortening and it turned out good and little better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mecookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Very disappointed. My husband is a biscuit lover and I thought this would be something easy for him to make. Simple ingredients and sounded "foul proof". I had him follow the recipe to a "T". I even had the sifter and pastry cutter for him to use. We were careful not to over handle. The biscuits did not rise and did not brown on top. My husband didn't enjoy the taste "very floury...something missing" I did try a bite and they we gummy and "very floury".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I hate to be the girl to review a recipe when I've changed a thing or two, but I have to. Instead of using shorting I grated a stick of cold butter in. This was my first time making biscuits from scratch. So yummy!!! I used one of my kids sippy cups as a biscuit cutter. It worked great and made good biscuits about the size as the ones from a can I used to buy from the dough boy. Super easy, yummy, quick, and I had all ingredients on hand. I'll never buy canned dough again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out awesome! This was the first time I had made biscuits from scratch and I was very pleased. I did add a tsp of organic sugar as someone else suggested and it gave them a great flavor. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Came together nicely. I made mini biscuits. Always a good recipe to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I love this recipe!! It is very simple and fast and turns out great! Crisp on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. I wanted to make them a little healthier, so I did 1/2 white, 1/2 wheat flour. It turned out great. I Think sifting the flour helped a lot. I sifted it a little bit more than one time too, because I've heard that sifting wheat flour helps it come out fluffier. Thanks for a great recipe we will use time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States