Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
The biscuits didn't rise at all but t they tasted blan. I wouldn t recommended this recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Gordon Sr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I have been trying for a long time to get good biscuits. I have found success with this recipe. They rose really high. I did have to add a little more milk then called for. Served them with sausage gravy. The wife was surprised that the biscuits came out so well. This will be my go to biscuit recipe from now on. Thanks lenihan5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My first time ever making biscuits, I used this recipe and they came out pretty good. I did substitute butter in place of the shortening, and they were still really flaky. I followed what another person suggested and used cold shredded butter, and barely kneaded the dough.I didn't give it 5 stars BC the biscuits were a tad bit dry.... But I would def make them again maybe with some country gravy!!!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
For those of you who say they didn't rise, HOW OLD IS YOUR BAKING POWDER??????? Don't give a recipe a bad review because your baking powder is over a YEAR OLD, as that is the shelf life of it, and many people don't know that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I replaced about a third of the shortening with butter. My husband doesn't care for bread products that much (personally, I think that's crazy!), so when he devoured these, I was very pleasantly surprised. He loved the flakiness of the biscuit and was amazed that I could bake biscuits from scratch like that. I said, "Honey, southern women know instinctively how to make biscuits." He's from the east coast...no wonder he hasn't had a good biscuit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
these were the best mother biscuits I've ever shoved down my rectum biznatches. I made these at 11:30 at night and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Tried this tonight for the first time. They came out perfect!!! I was so excited, I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have shortening so I used butter instead. Not only did they rise perfectly, but they were delicious! No more biscuits out of a can for my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy3148
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is the first biscuit recipe I was able to get a light fluffy biscuit. They have been a challenge for me for years! Very happy to have found this recipe. I followed exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerlo, New York, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very easy, as quick as opening a can. light and fluffy. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The biscuits didn't seem to have that much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States