Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I really like this recipe. It's easy and makes great biscuits. I've never made biscuits this fast. They are so tasty by themselves. I did have the problem with them not rising but I rolled the dough a little flat and I think my baking powder just needs to be fresher. Other than that great recipe. Liked it so much I gave it to my 14 year old daughter. She's an aspiring cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Great recipe!! I used butter instead of shortening and grated the cold butter as suggested by Julie W. into the dry ingredients. I mixed the dough just enough to get everything incorporated and patted it flat and cut out the biscuits using a circular cookie cutter. The recipe was easy, full proof, flaky and amazing!!! I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to make a quick, tasty homemade biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made these in my food processor! Throw the dry ingredients into the processor with very cold butter and pulse 2-3 times. Slowly add milk and pulse...voila! So easy my kiddos can make this. Very nice biscuits, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very easy and basic recipe. I followed it exactly and they turned out as I expected. In the future I might add herbs and cheese for a more cheesy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved the flavor but, for some reason it didn't raise :( I did 100% according to recipe but it looks like a cookie... Does anyone have an idea or could possibly help me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very moist on the inside and flaky on the outside. For those of you who don't want to go through the trouble of having to roll out the dough, cookie cut it, and repeat, I simply got a traditional icecream scooper, scooped the dough with it and dropped it into a greased cupcake pan. They rose much better when I did it this way And wasn't a big mess (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I've used this recipe several times before, and they always turn out great! This morning I made them, but had to make a couple substitutions. I only had self-rising flour, so I left out the baking powder. I didn't have milk, but instead used 3/4 cup water mixed with about 2 tsps non fat dairy creamer. They are simple and quick to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
My daughter asked me to give her this recipe when she's "older." :-) These were pretty easy to make, with good results. I added a few minutes to the baking time, but maybe it's because my biscuits were a bigger. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is my "go to" biscuit recipe. They always turn out. I've gotten creative with the recipe. When I make them I make a double batch, 1/3 I cook as normal biscuits, 1/3 I roll into little balls and roll into butter, cinnamon, and sugar and stack 3 balls to one hole of a muffin tin for sweet monkey bread, and the other 1/3 I roll into little balls and dip in butter, garlic, parmesan, and herbs and place three to a muffin tin hole for monkey bread. They are great as a side to pasta, soup, breakfast, or with jelly. I've also replaced the milk with yogurt and they turn out even more moist. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is a good basic recipe, but weren't as fluffy as we would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States