Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Marisol Bonilla
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening. .yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisol Bonilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
pretty good. I added some melted butter to the top of it for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheynne Cheynne Kelley
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
They came out great! Slight crunch and moist inside, I put cheese and garlic on half for my mother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Sub butter for shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have tried this recipe and they didn't turn out at all. The dough was extremely sticky and I had to keep adding flour in order to be able to get them off the floured surface and onto the baking sheet. The didn't rise hardly at all. I am going to try it again and try to figure out what I did wrong. I used butter instead of shortening but another review said butter was substituted for the shortening and they turned out great. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs B
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Perfect and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Never have made any other biscuit than this and is foolproof if you have good baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe because I didn't have any refrigerated biscuits and we really wanted biscuits and gravy for breakfast. I'm not sure what I did wrong but they were very, very bland and did not rise. My husband said that they looked more like sugar cookies. Next rime I may try with butter instead of shortening and add a little sugar like some of the other reviews had. They were easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather LeRae Edge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Easy and good! I'm not a baker. A little plain so next time I will experiment a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Doniphan, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I loved how these biscuits came out! I used to make biscuits and tried from what I remember in the past. I never could get them right! These came out so nice and flaky, just like I used to remember! Next time I will do what previous reviews stated and use cold butter and freeze them for future baking! Yumm! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States