Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe because I didn't have any refrigerated biscuits and we really wanted biscuits and gravy for breakfast. I'm not sure what I did wrong but they were very, very bland and did not rise. My husband said that they looked more like sugar cookies. Next rime I may try with butter instead of shortening and add a little sugar like some of the other reviews had. They were easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather LeRae Edge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Easy and good! I'm not a baker. A little plain so next time I will experiment a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Doniphan, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I loved how these biscuits came out! I used to make biscuits and tried from what I remember in the past. I never could get them right! These came out so nice and flaky, just like I used to remember! Next time I will do what previous reviews stated and use cold butter and freeze them for future baking! Yumm! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Londaty
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This is my go-biscut recipe. I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
make these all the time and to change flavor or purpose for the biscuits...ie sweet roll or such or just plain,,.,.,do use buttermilk or sour milk knead just a few times....add 1 to 2 tblsp sugar and some raisins if wanting a sweet one but cheese and jalapeno pepper can be used for dinner buns so many uses and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Just made these.. DELICIOUS! Made exactly as recipe stated! They are flaky and yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Red LoRusso
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
They were good, but bland without butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by william seevers
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Turned out like hockey pucks. I added an image
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by william seevers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very tasty , I substituted butter for shortening and added 1 tablespoon of parsley...my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Pretty awesome! I followed some suggestions from others and my biscuits came out oh so yummy. Instead of shortening, I used real butter. I also added some more baking powder. My dad's side of the family is from the south. I was taught how to make biscuits, but I couldn't remember the recipe, so this was very helpful. They don't actually 'measure' but eye things. Instead of milk, use butter milk. Also, don't roll the dough out at all. You form each biscuit using your own hands. Granny used her hands while mixing in the butter. I remember sitting at the table and watching her do that. Form rough balls and gently flatten out the top. Put some oil (canola, veggie) in a spoon and pour a little over the top of each. I remember aunt Brenda using the bottom of the spoon to spread the oil over the top. The cooking time and temp. were perfect! What a great recipe. Thanks! It was so very helpful, as well as comments from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caralyn Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States