Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These always turn out perfectly and my neighbor told me they are even better than her grandmothers - but I'm not supposed to tell anyone... I should mention that I use salted butter instead of shortening. Once the dough is flattened out, I flour, fold and flatten - repeat twice more. This will give the biscuits the layers that make them light and wonderful. I used to think of this as over handling and thought it would make the biscuits hard, but not so. oh - and one more thing. I don't use a biscuit cutter. I use a sharp knife to cut each one out. This keeps the edges of the dough from smooshing down and preventing them from rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
These are good but not as great as I hoped. I felt like there is too much shortening; leaving an oily residue after eating. I made the recipe as directed; no modifications, no substitutions, nothing. That being said, I am not a biscuit-pro and these actually looked like biscuits :) Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Was in the mood for biscuits this morning but couldn't find my baking soda so I used this recipe. I think they should have turned out better but they didn't rise. They were still nice and flaky because I know how to make biscuits so I'm stumped on what went wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Made these this morning and I used half a cup of real salted butter instead of the shortening. They turned out perfect and were delicious. Very light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
These are amazing biscuits! I also used very cold butter instead of shortening and I added a little extra butter, approximately another 1/4 of a stick. They always turn out perfectly and I've even made they dough in food processor following all the steps and they turn out just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy, works great. Like other reviewers have said be sure not to twist when you cut the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used "refined lard" instead of shortening and self-rising flour instead of AP flour + powder + salt... OMG SOOOOOOOOO good. we made biscuits-with-fresh-berries and stew-dumplings. Both were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Fabulous and easy to throw together with just a few ingredients. Didn't have a round cookie cutter so I used the mouth of a glass instead, works fine. Loved these both in savoury dishes with sausage, and in sweet with a little jam spread on them. Can't go wrong following these instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I just tried this recipe because of all the great reviews well @450 deg. for 10 mins. I found the biscuits to be doughy in the middle and bland (Even with an additional 1 tbsp of sugar) I have a newer gas oven and a thermometer. Did I do something wrong? Maybe but I doubt it! I should have make box biscuits! #BiscutsInTrash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imenchanted

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This makes a great flaky biscuit, but doesn't have a whole lot of flavor. I think I would recommend more salt. I would also recommend turning the heat down a smidgeon so that you can role the biscuits a little thicker. Finally, there is an after tastes of baking powder that I would have preferred not to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States