Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good basic recipe. I change out the milk for buttermilk and add 1-2 TBS sugar. Also change out the shortening for either lard or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe is the closest to my Mom's baking powder biscuits I have ever tried to make. I have never been able to get the dough to rise enough or be flaky enough like my Mom's until this recipe. The only change or addition I would like to add is that the biscuits should be placed so close together before baking that the dough is " kissing" the next biscuit. This helps to keep moistness in. Also, if you need to warm them up and want them to be like they had just come out of the oven: place the biscuits loosely in a paperbag, fold the top down and roll it up tightly. Run the water faucet briefly over the bag of biscuits . The outside should look wet, but not saturated. Heat bag of biscuits in the oven on 300 f for about 20 minutes but check the biscuit's warmth every 10-5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Turned out great. I made a smaller portion and still were wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
These were pretty good. I had to use butter to substitute the shortening the first time. I'm hoping they will be even better when I use the shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixoflife137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
So easy! I was nervous as it was my first time making biscuits from scratch. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great recipe, very quick, used butter. Perfect yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Used hot butter, added 1 tablespoon of sugar, and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Perfect biscuits! My husband and son want them with everything! Super easy, super scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
The dough has a wonderful consistency but my biscuits didn't rise hardly at all as well (as other reviewers have stated). The biscuit is not light and fluffy and its lacking in flavor. I give it 5 stars for the dough and only 3 stars for everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These always turn out perfectly and my neighbor told me they are even better than her grandmothers - but I'm not supposed to tell anyone... I should mention that I use salted butter instead of shortening. Once the dough is flattened out, I flour, fold and flatten - repeat twice more. This will give the biscuits the layers that make them light and wonderful. I used to think of this as over handling and thought it would make the biscuits hard, but not so. oh - and one more thing. I don't use a biscuit cutter. I use a sharp knife to cut each one out. This keeps the edges of the dough from smooshing down and preventing them from rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States