Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
FINALLY a biscuit recipe that actually turns out. This is the fourth biscuit recipe I have tried from this site and this was the first one that turned out flakey and soft on the inside and crisp on the outside. I used butter and grated it with a cheese grater like someone suggested. Then I turned it out onto the counter, flattened it slightly, and cut it into pieces with a knife rather than making perfect circles. So easy and will definitely be my regular biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Did not rise at all... don't think it was my ingredients, I'd used them for something else earlier that came out fine. I told my kids these were "bread cookies" and some of them were eaten, but...I didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These are the very best!!!! Instead of shortening I used extra butter. I also mixed the milk with half sour cream. My family (husband and five kids) all said this was the best biscuits they've ever had, and I've tried alot of recipes on this site. Thank you Natalie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Pretty good. I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is something I will make over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Pretty good. Made these to go with supper last night and then had left overs with homemade sausage gravy this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were great! I tried making them a little healthier and I think I'll attempt again to make them even more healthy. I made them half whole wheat and used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
It was a great recipe for basic use. It is light and fluffy. It doesn't turn into a ball of dough in the mouth. It is also easy to add spices to to costumize it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
OMG these were SOOO good! WOw I impressed myself with these ones. I folled the recipe exactly and they couldnt have turned out better. Just like from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastajjia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These are fantastic!! Every time I follow a recipe, it never turns out as good as I expect. THESE DID!!! I followed the recipe exactly...they were awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States