Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
parfait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Having never made biscuits before, I decided to give this a try and wow! they were great. Now I make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I just made half of this recipe and finished eating. My biscuits came out flat, probably due to old baking powder. Also I used light butter instead of shortening and I used 1% milk. But they were not hard as bricks, so I ate some anyway. They were tasty and great with a little southern gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Made these to go with homemade beef stew and they turned out beautifully. I didn't have a 1/2" band for my rolling pin so I used the 3/8" and they rose with no problem. Next time I'm going to make a double batch so we have extras for breakfast in the AM:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These are very similar to the recipe my mom made growing up as a kid. This is the first time I have ever attempted homemade biscuits without them turning out like rocks! Will definitely use the recipe again...biscuits came out very soft and tender. I made sure not to over handle the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MissiLLScarlett
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are incredibly flakey and delicious. I fallowed another users advice, and used cold grated butter. They turned out perfectly. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissiLLScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I really like this recipe. It's easy and makes great biscuits. I've never made biscuits this fast. They are so tasty by themselves. I did have the problem with them not rising but I rolled the dough a little flat and I think my baking powder just needs to be fresher. Other than that great recipe. Liked it so much I gave it to my 14 year old daughter. She's an aspiring cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Great recipe!! I used butter instead of shortening and grated the cold butter as suggested by Julie W. into the dry ingredients. I mixed the dough just enough to get everything incorporated and patted it flat and cut out the biscuits using a circular cookie cutter. The recipe was easy, full proof, flaky and amazing!!! I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to make a quick, tasty homemade biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made these in my food processor! Throw the dry ingredients into the processor with very cold butter and pulse 2-3 times. Slowly add milk and pulse...voila! So easy my kiddos can make this. Very nice biscuits, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very easy and basic recipe. I followed it exactly and they turned out as I expected. In the future I might add herbs and cheese for a more cheesy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States