Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Super yummy! Use butter instead of shortening for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great biscuits. I haven't had much luck making biscuits until I found this recipe. I took the advice from one reviewer and used butter instead of shortening. I grated the cold butter and added it to the dry mixture a little at a time, mixing as I went along. Flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Queez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I followed the directions and they came out perfectly. This recipes includes all basics for all general biscuit recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Just as the name implies, it makes a wonderful basic biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe is just what it says...Basic Biscuits. These biscuits are very easy to make. However if you're new to biscuit/bread making, I suggest watching one of the videos on this site on how to work the dough. I think I'll stick to my buttermilk biscuits, because they're softer and more flavorful. White Lily flour makes the lightest, softest biscuits. I don't know if that brand is available nationally or only here in the South, but it makes the lightest biscuits hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I saw lil flake lines in the finished product, but i also had rising issues. Husband says, they were ok, but definately a cookie like biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made these several times, there is too much of a salty, dry, flour taste and not much flavor at all. On the plus side, mine looked beautiful, they did rise some, and were very flaky and soft . I'm planning on trying the same recipe with buttermilk and/or using butter instead of shortening. I'm not giving up yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
They did not rise at all, not sure where I went wrong, followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ryrysmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Substituted all butter for the shortening and these came out great. Very quick and easy. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Terrible. I followed this recipe exactly. They did not rise and are tasteless. That is what I get for trying a recipe that seemed too easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States