Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Just made these.. DELICIOUS! Made exactly as recipe stated! They are flaky and yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Red LoRusso
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
They were good, but bland without butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by william seevers
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Turned out like hockey pucks. I added an image
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by william seevers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very tasty , I substituted butter for shortening and added 1 tablespoon of parsley...my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Pretty awesome! I followed some suggestions from others and my biscuits came out oh so yummy. Instead of shortening, I used real butter. I also added some more baking powder. My dad's side of the family is from the south. I was taught how to make biscuits, but I couldn't remember the recipe, so this was very helpful. They don't actually 'measure' but eye things. Instead of milk, use butter milk. Also, don't roll the dough out at all. You form each biscuit using your own hands. Granny used her hands while mixing in the butter. I remember sitting at the table and watching her do that. Form rough balls and gently flatten out the top. Put some oil (canola, veggie) in a spoon and pour a little over the top of each. I remember aunt Brenda using the bottom of the spoon to spread the oil over the top. The cooking time and temp. were perfect! What a great recipe. Thanks! It was so very helpful, as well as comments from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caralyn Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Followed the advice of the reviewer who used butter instead of shortening. These were tasty, but they did not rise well. Will keep searching for the perfect biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
It is very good. Though I would prefer to cook it for twelve minutes instead of ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah Fowlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe.... (people having trouble ???? _secret_ to good dough is don't over work it just like a good pie crust. and very cold ingredents is a plus..... lenihan5 great job thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Loved it just as it was, thank you for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I needed a recipe in a pinch and I found this one. It is quick, easy and tasty! Would recommend it to anyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States