Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
If you've had trouble with biscuits in the past...look no further. This basic recipe is a no brainer and just as easy and quick as any I've ever done. All of the substitutions will work...particularly the swap out of shortening with butter and too...sour or buttermilk. Some tricks besides folding the dough to layer it, is don't over-handle the dough, and using a sharp cutter that won't crush the dough as you're cutting the biscuit. It allows the dough to expand while baking...giving that flaky end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was my first time making biscuits EVER!!! I wanted a delicious and easy biscuit recipe to make for my husband because he adores Mcdonalds biscuits and I want him to love mine as much if not more!!! This was a hit!! As soon as they came out the oven, my husband and daughter devoured them!! I made this to the recipe exact, and they came out PERFECT!! The best by far, now I'm wondering what else I can add to them and different variations?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These are by far the best biscuits I've attempted so far. Like others I had some trouble with mine rising, but I think that has to do with personal error rather than anything in the recipe. Biscuits can be so finicky. Even though mine failed to rise much, they still tasted great. I can see these being delicious with sausage gravy or even with some butter and jam for breakfast. I'll definitely be trying these again. Hopefully I can get them to rise a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Perfect recipe! I used butter instead of shortening, and it worked out great! I also added Italian spices which brought out an amazing flavor! Going to be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Worked perfectly to the word and the measures mentioned. I used this as a training ground for my eager to learn daughter and we were both delighted. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki052995
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
My boyfriend loved these!(: they were super easy to make, but I also added an egg to them and used butter instead of shortening. Definitely 5 stars!!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
made them to the recipe and they were yummy. Great quick biscuit recipe! Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Really easy to make. Like them better with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was an OUTSTANDING recipe!!! I used butter flavored shortening & about 1 cup of milk - my husband loves biscuits & sausage gravy & he said that this recipe was the best biscuits for that!!! I think it would be great with sausage or jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My kids love these biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States