Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i made these for the first time today, they were amazing :-) so light and fluffy with a lovely taste. My daughter had them with homemade sausage gravy. my son liked them with maple syrup and my other son just ate them plain couldn't get enough of them.. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is a good basic biscuit recipe, and my husband loves it. I use canola oil, and it turns out well enough for me. Sometimes I use 1/2 whole wheat flour as well. If I want them a bit fluffier, I add more milk and less oil. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
These were pretty good. There just seemed to be something missing. They rose nice can high. Oddly enough we liked them better once cold. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very easy to follow. As others mentioned do not overwork the dough so that the biscuits will rise. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Really delicious. I have made these several times and they come out slightly crispy on the outside, but are fluffy and dense on the inside. I also substituted some of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I won't give this 5 stars because I did make a couple changes. First I used buttermilk. Second, because I was actually making garlic knots I added a little garlic. Then used the dough instead of store bought biscuit dough for garlic knots. With minimal kneading this dough bakes up as light as a feather and very subtly in flavor. Tomorrow morning I will be making biscuits and gravy with this recipe, still using buttermilk instead of butter and butter instead of shortening. I can't wait to taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
i have used this many times...easy to adjust to your wants -add egg(reduce milk), add dill, add cheese, add bacon bits... has not failed me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My boyfriend was craving biscuits so I whipped these together. They definitely did the trick. The dough seemed dry and crumbly but they puffed up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These were edible, which is better than any I've ever made. I followed the directions EXACTLY, and they were still very flat. I measured to exactly 1/2" for half of them, and the other half I made 1". The 1" ones were significantly better, but still not as good as biscuits from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States