Basic Beurre Blanc Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I left out the cream and it did perfectly for the most delicious and succulent of fresh caught river salmon from our local fish market. Also, with some to spare, I drizzled it over my spinach shallot rice and quinoa and parmesan pilaf for an added depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Had this with tilapia and the family loved it. For those people who have trouble with this, try adding a little extra cream to the reduction and set it aside and allow it to cool before adding the butter. Then slowly add in the chilled butter a little bit at a time as you wisk it in while moving the pan back onto the heat and then off as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I also used one stick of botter only and added some capers. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Excellent Sauce but is a little salty with salted butter being added. Next time I will use unsalted butter and add salt to taste. I used really cold butter and did not have an issue with my sauce separating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Awesome base Beurre Blanc recipe! Came out fantastic and made this close to the recipe (only 1 sick of butter and I probably used double the chopped shallot because I'm terrible at "eyeing" things). I've made it a few other ways, but honestly this was the easiest and the best and it didn't break (WIN!). I can see a little lemon zest in this next time or maybe even some dill? The trick to strain it was so simple, yet so what I had NOT been doing - why did I not think of this? Thanks for that! You do need to babysit this closely, like any cream/acid sauce, and once it's time to add the butter (have it very cold and very close) you must whisk non-stop or it will break for sure. I frequently pull it off the heat, add a chunk of butter, and whisk and if it isn't melting well return to the burner for 10-15 seconds to get up to melting temp - but don't let boil - repeat over and over until butter is all incorporated. Awesome over my crabmeat stuffed tilapia and prosciutto roasted asparagus! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORPKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I didn't have any bay leaf, but it still tasted amazing over my grilled swordfish steaks and prawns. Will definitely be making this again! Used chardonnay for the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My family loves this. I serve it with bowtie or farfalle pasta and chicken. I modified it slightly: 3 bay leaves instead of 1, omit white wine vinegar. I have substituted the shallot with both garlic and regular onion as I have available. I probably use a bit more wine, a bit more cream, but less butter than this recipe calls for. I use about one stick of real butter. I cook the noodles until almost done and finish them in the sauce and then throw in cooked sliced chicken. The people at my table are always fighting for the last little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I did not have heavy cream so I used 2% milk and this turned out great. I used as a pasta sauce tossed with cubed chicken, spinach and sun dried tomatoes. Use salted butter for good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Just delicious and easy as can be. If you seem to be getting a sauce that is clear instead of opaque add a small amount additional cream. Constant whisking is the key. Had this with pan seared salmon and it was fabulous. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Maybe I'm just cooking challenged when it comes to Beurre Blanc. Are you supposed to cool the vinegar mixture before pouring in the cream bcs. it just curdled on me and then turned into a buttery soupy curddled mess in the end. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Master Basic Knife Skills

Master a few simple techniques to slice and dice like a chef.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States