Basic Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Quick, easy and fun to make with kids. Delicious, without being too fancy. Makes a great winter meal with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I really like bean soup and this recipe is wonderful! It is so easy to make and truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This Soup Was Great,Quick & Simple. I Also Added Smoked Sausage & Crushed Hot Pepper For A Little Smokey Zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was a wonderfully flavorful and easy soup. Make sure to soak dry beans as they still take almost six hours of cooking to soften. I added a smoked pork hock during cooking. Watch your water level and add water as you go to make sure you end up with enough servings at your preferred consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Great recipe but definitely need the meat as it can be quite bland otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
My kids loved it and my husband (who generally doesn't like bean soup) had seconds. Very easy and very good. I've made it twice already, next time I think I'll use a blend of beans for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a excellent soup. I followed the recipe to the letter. My family has a big "Soupfest" the Saturday after Christmas every year and this recipe was a really big hit. I made up a pan of Mexican cornbread to go with it and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This is a really good soup! Everyone loved it, including my small children! I used fried pieces of bacon instead of the ham, and didn't have fresh onion so I used dehydrated instead. I also added about a tbsp of red pepper flakes and it definately needed a little salt and pepper but it was really good! I will definately be making this again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I tried this soup last month and thought it was really good. The only thing I changed was that I added kielbasa sausage instead of ham, since it was what I had on hand. Thank you Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Good soup for a cold winters day. I used what was leftover from a picnic ham and just placed the whole thing, bone and all, in with the beans. The last hour I removed the meat from the bone. Put the ham into the pot and threw away the bones. It brought back memories of my Mothers bean soup. Thanks Chris, this is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States