Basic Baked Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I made this for a party and it was a big hit. Everyone raved about it. I used 1lb. box of angel hair spaghetti 2 large cans of spaghetti sauce and cheddar and mozzarella mixed cheese on top. This made a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
921 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I modified this based on other reviews and while it's not technically the original recipe, I've got to give full props to the Wendy for submitting this and getting me started. The last time (I've made it more than once), I used a little over a pound of mild italian sausage and onions (and ran it through the food processor to get the crumbles smaller) and two 26 oz. jars of sauce. I'm also a not-interested-in-recovering cheese addict so I used mixed in two cups of shredded cheddar with the spaghetti mixture and another two cups on top. I think I'll stick to this combination as it was quite tasty. It made so much I gave the neighbor a cube for her toddler who wasn't feeling the love for spaghetti before tasting this. As a stay at home mom, I love having this in the fridge for my toddler's (and my) lunch. It holds shape very well so I can cut it into small cubes and serve it to him cold or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This recipe was a great starter. I added mushrooms, onions, garlic salt, garlic powder and onion powder to my ground beef when frying it. Then added mozzarella cheese along with the mild cheddar. Everyone loved it I now make this instead of the original spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I can't agree with other reviewers regarding the proportions - I followed the recipe and it was neither too dry nor too wet. Perfect. My husband is not a huge spaghetti fan, but loved it this way. I put a cup of cheddar and then a cup of mozerella on top, followed by a generous shower of parmesan. I used Ragu Robusto brand sauce and still spiced it up with extra garlic powder, italian seasoning, and chili powder. I always do that to jarred sauce. Very good - a definate keeper as a basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was excellent, of course with the changes that I made. I browned lean beef in olive oil, and finely chopped onions, along with salt, pepper,garlic powder,oregano,and a pinch of crushed red peppers. I also used a 26 oz jar of spaghetti sauce and Half of another one, so that it had enough sauce. I topped it with pieces of butter, provolone slices, and shredded mild chedder, and baked at 375 for 20 mins until cheese was melted and slightly browned. and MMMMMM MMMMMM MMMM! Very good!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I have made this a few times awhile back, and for some reason forgot about this yummy recipe. Thanks to my recipe box on here I made it again, and wow it is so good. I of course make my normal sauce, and add mushrooms, onion, garlic, parsley, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil to my sauce. I also use the cheddar cheese, but I also add mixed Italian cheese to it. This dish is perfect for a cold winter night. I guess there is something about baking spaghetti for 30 minutes that makes it extra yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Great recipe...the whole family loved it, even my 5 year old niece. It needs more sauce than the recipe calls for. I usually buy a large jar (24oz) and almost use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Great starting place for an easy family meal that everyone enjoys. Leftovers are even better! I used less pasta (about 2/3 of a 16 oz package) and about 32 oz. of my favorite basil and oregano sauce. I also sauteed onions and garlic with the ground beef and added Italian seasoning to the sauce. Some reviewers think that cheddar and spaghetti makes a strange combination, but I love it! My mom always uses cheddar cheese in her baked spaghetti. I recommend a cheddar and mozzarella bend. I layered spaghetti, cheese, and spaghetti. I added the cheese on top during the last few minutes of baking. I served it with grated parmesan and garlic cheese toast. I'm sure I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This was a really tasty and quick dish. I love to have a "sit down" lunch with my kiddos and since the 3 of us all agree on spaghetti...we had this today. I used mozzarella instead of cheddar and since I couldn't find my baking dish..(left it at the in-laws), I opted for the microwave, which worked great. Plus, it cut down on the cooking time. I had this done in about 15 minutes. Oh yeah, instead of ground meat, I used meatballs. I did alter it quite a bit, but the end result was good and my babies had dirty mouths & full tummies which is all that mattered!! Thanks Wendy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
Excellent! On busy days this is a quick, easy recipe that tastes great! My husband really liked it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States