Basboosa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
this is wonderful and so simple. I made this as a Ramadan dessert treat for my DH and his friends. I upped the coconut by 1 tbsp. Decreased the sugar in the syrup by 1/4 cup and just boiled it a bit longer to get the right consistency for simple syrup. I had homemade rosewater my sister in law made and it is a bit stronger than store-bought. I still upped the rosewater by about 1tbsp. I just taste-tested the syrup after it was finished and adjusted accordingly. The flavor was not overpowering and was just perfect. Orange blossom water can also be substituted. **You may see semolina flour packaged as "cream of wheat" in a Middle Eastern or Indian grocery; it is the same as semolina flour, just a different name. Even though mine got a little too brown on top, it did not affect the flavor. Next time I'll only do 1 minute under the broiler. As it cools, it will absorb the simple syrup. These are also just as good served cold. Thanks so much for this wonderful simple recipe that will become a staple for my husband's sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is the first time I try making besboosa, we normally buy it. Everyone pronounced it better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This was WONDERFUL!!! My mom loved this! It was pretty simple to make too considering how much preperation, time, money, and skill most gormet recipes take. Loved it! Will use any of your recipes again! Thanks, a grateful 18 year old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I did not have coconut so I skipped that off. Did not have rose water at hand either so followed the idea of another member. Would prefer the rose water taste though. I used just 1 cup sugar for the syrup and it was still SO sweet. I thought the water was too much too... made the basboosa very moist. Perhaps would use only 3/4 cup water next time with maybe 1/2 cup sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was delicious! I used only a fraction of the syrup called for however - saved the rest as most of the first batch got eaten today by friends and coworkers! I also had only 3/4 cup of yogurt but went ahead anyway. I upped the coconut slightly and ended up having to cook it an additional 6 minutes, and then under the broiler for about 45 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I really like this dessert. I followed the suggestion of TUNISIANSWIFE and used equal parts of sugar and water to make the syrup. I'm not a big fan of rosewater, so I used lemon juice. The other basboosa recipe on allrecipes uses lemon juice. I used Cream of Wheat because I couldn't find semolina flour, and it worked. I broiled the cake for two minutes, and it was overdone. Next time, I'll reduce the time to one minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This is very delicious and unique recipe that you must try. I used sliced almonds instead of almond halves and cut down the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups in the syrup. Since I baked this in a glass pan I turned down the oven tempature to 325 degrees. I did not find that there was too much of the syrup or that it was drowning in it, like some other reviewers found. We all just loved the flavor of the rosewater and we think this would also be great using orange flower water instead of rose water. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very good forgiving recipe. As a previous review suggested, I added less sugar, some honey and lemon instead of rose water, added ground almond, fit it all in a different size of a pan (adjusting the baking time, too), and it turned out beautifully. We love mid-eastern desserts, but this is the first time I made this one, and it was a hit with an international crowd of friends. Will definitely do again. Thank you for sharing, Lubna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was pretty good, very sweet and easy to make. I would take the recommendation to decrease the syrup. I felt like it was floating in the syrup because not all of it got soaked up. Mine got cooked pretty fast on the edges even after I lowered the temperature in the oven. Next time, I'll try to cook it at 325 or so and I'll add the extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I replaced the flour with 'cream of wheat' and the yogurt with sour cream and milk. It turned out really good besides the fact that it was too wet, next time I will use less of the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States